You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking Profits on XRP: Buying 0x (ZRX)

in #blockchain7 years ago

Your writing is very interesting.
But I want to ask you, what do you think about the development of 2018 bitcoin price in the future?
I just want to survey some people

Sort:  

I have doubts about Bitcoin valuation. I was listening to one of my favourite speakers, Julian Hosp, and he was saying that when we look at a crypto we need to look at its value before we consider its price. Value is what it is worth, price is what you pay for it.

They are linked but not always directly correlated.

Bitcoin has a very high price, but I question its value. The thing that BTC does best is a "store of value" and I agree that is interesting and meaningful, however there are many coins that offer that. Litecoin is nearly as old, and therefore nearly as proven as BTC, yet BTC is way more expensive than LTC, and there are other examples like this.

What does BTC do that no other coin can do? It was first is the only thing that seperates it. That again is meaningful but in my view not sufficient to justify heavily investing in BTC at this point.

I hold a bit of BTC, maybe it makes up 1/30th of my portfolio, but I am not bullish on it because first and for most, I believe the "value" does not justify the "price".

Add to that, BCH stealing some attention, users, and miners, and add to that the growing cryptocurrency options, whose to say there won't be some as yet unknown leader of the crypto market in years to come.

One more point. When I look to investing, I strive to find projects that have a value, an answer to a current problem, and I ask how big is that problem, and how important is that answer, who is their competition and what sets them apart from their competition. On all these metrics I feel BTC scores poorly.

Is BTC a currency? kind of, but there are cryptos that are better at that, then BTC.
Does BTC solve any real world problems? Remittances, sure, but again other cryptos do that better, Ripple for example.
Does BTC do something that no other crypto does? Nope.

I hold very little BTC, and I will likely keep it that way, although that is not to say that I don't doubt it will 10x eventually, I do doubt it will occur before half a dozen other coins. So I prefer to seek those alt coins that will 10x faster than BTC.

Hope that helps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65809.66
ETH 2680.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.95