You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Process 100M Transfers / Second on a Single Blockchain

in #blockchain7 years ago

The best way to achieve these properties while maintaining flexibility is to have a robust cross-chain communication protocol and keep all new / changing features on separate chains. You could have one chain for STEEM, one for SBD, one for STEALTH STEEM, and one for STEALTH SBD.

If we were to go this route, would each chain need to have its own coin associated with it, along with miners, witnesses, etc. - or would they all somehow be tied together via STEEM?

Sort:  

Just one token and set of witnesses

Cool, that's awesome!

OK so is this the same as side-chains on Bitcoin or the Lightning network?

Definitely not.

Both achieve the effect of scale, but to be frank this is much, much better. Once segwit and lightning kick in, I anticipate some issues in the world of bitcoin, specifically because they more or less move some transactions off of the blockchain. @dantheman's solution does not propose such madness.

OK cool. I am also wondering if we could take some of the ethereum thunder with regards to "smart contracts" too. We have the speed and scaling - which they have not yet fixed and from what I am reading there seems to be a loss of confidence in their blockchain overall. I'm not being mean to ethereum but it seems there is an opportunity there right now.

I must toss out an alternate view.

I've been a critic of steem-- but I hope, a "known friendly" critic. I say this because I now feel compelled to compare to ethereum. AFAIK, ethereum, and thus "ether" the "gas" that pays for transactions.... both do a grand total of nothing at all. Really.

So here's my reply on that: I do not think that we want any of that thunder. For more on some pretty awesome stuff, have a look into these things, comparatively:

  • Graphene
  • Tendermint
  • Hyperledger

From my limited (but-limited-knowledge-puts-me-in the top 1% of programmers for comparative blockchain knowledge and top .001% of humans for the same) knowledge, I want to say that there are way better things on the horizon. G, TM, and HL all share some common points. There's an incredible discussion occurring here:

https://github.com/cosmos/cosmos/issues/43

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63316.73
ETH 3077.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87