FoodCoin.io, a new toy for the middlemen?

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

I saw this ad yesterday in a train to Zürich:

.

First I have found the idea quite appealing. After reading quickly through the FAQ section of https://www.foodcoin.io/ I think that two important features are still missing:

  1. Simplicity. Crypto currencies are inherently complicated. FoodCoin is built on Ethereum, the open source crypto-coin and that is no exception. FoodCoin does not provide an abstraction layer, so all the technical complexities are exposed.
  2. Eliminating the middlemen. This feature would be the most important for me. Smart contracts between the producers and individual end-consumers. FairTrade 2.0. Maybe a fair coin could be just created? Wait, let me google it... Bingo: there it is: https://fair-coin.org/ :-) :-)

Bottom line: crypto-currencies are here to stay, I think that we will find good use cases in the near future, like buying food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66015.85
ETH 3551.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13