You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The (probably) biggest statistics about blockchain, posted on a blockchain

in #blockchain5 years ago

Hello - I'm a software architect in a big banking computer center. Some Comment to your statement
"Keep in mind that these people whose answers are analysed below are developers, so the chances that they have been exposed already to the blockchain are far greater than regular people who do not have a solid programming or technical background"
My experience is that developers are not the people who are interested in the potential of the blockchain. They recognize it as another new technology and they will use it if required. Much more interested in blockchain are managers, business developers, banking experts, software architects and so on. I think developers are not more interested in blockchain than other people but maybe even less.

Sort:  

I can understand that developers may not be the most interested people in blockchain from all of the other professions, I should not have suggested this. What I am trying to say is them, being curious about what is new as a matter of technology are more likely to have heard of blockchain and understand how it is working, than many other people.

You gave as an example the people from a management position, the business developers or banking experts and software architects. That is right to some extent, part of these people are more interested in blockchain than regular developers. But keep in mind that not all the managers are working for a tech company so for them is pretty unlikely to get in touch with blockchain (hospitals manager's may never hear of blockchain).

On the other side, I have to mention that software architects were also included in this survey, as some software architects are active on Stackoverflow just as developers. I have called them developers in a more general fashion only for the sake of simplicity.

After all, I think that you have a very good point and I want to thank you for letting me and the rest of the readers see it. I have received good feedback about your comment from some peers of mine!

If the point is "who knows what a blockchain is", I will agree. On various opportunities we meet bank employees not dealing with IT development. They heard about Bitcoin or some other cryptocurrency and then ask us what a blockchain is and if blockchain is a serious trend. They usually don't have an idea what blockchain is. Or even worse they heard a little bit about blockchain an tell crazy things about blockchain :-).
I appreciate your answer. It helped me to better understand who was doing the survey.

No problem, I am trying to create value here so I am happy when I see people like you challenging my post with comments. I hope this article will help some people understanding how blockchain is perceived and what areas blockchain evangelists need to work on :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68