You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BLOCKCHAIN: In the future History may stop being written/edited by the victor...

in #blockchain7 years ago (edited)

But government isn't people, it's an agreement

I agree, but what if people have a volunteeric agreement with their government (Libertarian Utopia, because right now the agreement is forced) and they do not include complete transparency for the gov, wouldn't it still be Libertarian?

I am for complete transparency, because I find stalking rather flattering instead of dangerous and I do not have things that I really need to hide, but I think this is necessarily a Libertarian idea.

The following made me really mad at the people who "interviewed" Thiel

Sort:  

As I stated, opacity in government is even more temporary than government. The irrepressible progress of surveillance technology, which includes open blockchain, cameras, data harvesting, and all of it, is potentiating surveillance by the public, not only of the public.

While the full range of political positions includes a substantial percentage of people who are most comfortable following leaders, there are yet sufficient folks to use advances in technology that potentiate watching the watchers, and enough others that will throw support their way when they turn up dirt, that those advances will effectively erode government secrecy.

Operation Mockingbird is becoming useless as Wikileaks, a vast complex of citizen journalists, and ever more potent whistle blowers replace the wholly owned media.

Recently I discussed using Wickr with a close associate, but they said they weren't interested in resisting surveillance, because they thought is was the last desperate attempt of TPTB to retain control - and they wanted them to cling to that illusion as long as possible, because that would prevent them from doing even more dire things.

It took me a few minutes, but I had to agree with them.

It took me a few minutes, but I had to agree with them.

I actually used to 100% agree with complete transparency, but talking about it in detail made me realize that if only one person does not want to have everything about their lives to open on the blockchain, then we would also force people to abide our rules.

Personally I really do not care much. I have clearly stated on Steemit with my clear name that I would welcome a coup d'etat, which could make me a target for the german secret service. Just so they don't miss it, I actually applied to work in the IT of the Bundesverfassungsschutz and linked them my Steemit account in my application :3.
They should try to harm me for my opinions and see what happens, it would give our course so much more power. I don't want to be a Martyr , but the concept alone is protecting my ass at this point.

effectively erode government secrecy.

I hope that you are right. I believe this to be a natural development as well, but I do not want to praise the day before evening started and get complacent.

" praise the day before evening started"

I love that saying. I've never heard it before. It is without doubt consideration I should better undertake.

I wish bad press might better restrain the USG. Just as the Stasi turned citizens into their informants, the USG, or more correctly, the local authorities do much the same, and even astroturf their way to a separation from nefarious activities being under the controls limiting government.

If a Sheriff's Deputy pulls you over, you have (usually) some expectation of legal protections. This is not so if you are forced to stop by an ostensibly private citizen, who is connected to governmental bureaucracies through their being a snitch.

I have run into this problem more than once, and government is insulated from press regarding the actions of their agent, while the agent is above the law, due to their connections.

I am still healing from the last discussion I had with a person that revealed they had access to my medical records (which government is supposedly prevented from accessing without a warrant), has previously openly assaulted me in broad daylight in front of witnesses (including my son), and despite the extensive injury, and the direct claim of responsibility by the thug, there has been no sanction, or even any charge, whatsoever.

Because government isn't officially responsible for this conduct, yet fully invests it's power in the person that is, my only recourse is to my own network.

I can't compete.

I expect that , given my refusal to comply with demands delivered with fist (and my demonstration of willingness to back up my words at our last 'discussion') the next meeting will involve escalation. The threat has been repeated, and I do not doubt they are personally willing to carry it out.

I believe that they are being restrained only because their handlers prefer not to be potentially exposed, which is a likely consequence of my death.

So transparency has effect at present, yet not enough to entirely prevent my physical and legal abuse by a party whose connection to government remains cryptic. The money (snitches typically sell drugs, and it isn't widely understood that their handlers partake of that money) is at risk if my death strongly motivates investigation that could shine light on the actions of these thugs, and like cockroaches, they can only thrive in darkness.

I had to gulp a little reading your response. I really hope that you are speaking metaphoricly, but it does not sound like it...

I would hate to see something happening to you, after all I do value the well thought-out ideas you provide as well.

One thing I learned about solutions: Sometimes you think you need to choose between A and B and forget to look if there aren't any alternatives.

I am not sure which state you are from, but people who know me might know that I am very reluctant to bash police (I would never sign ACAB). In Germany police will tell you to please be more quite if you have a loud private party and tell you to please put out the joints while in front of them. They won't arrest and not even threaten to do so.

However if live is in danger and violence is used our police switches to a very rampant but protective force. The only time I was in front of a court was when I sued someone for violent robbery. I won, he went to jail for 3 months, he also commited a ton of crime in the past, so...

Anyways, if you want more privacy in the conversation we can talk about the details on Steemit.chat or discord. However I am not sure if I can do much more but listen, it is not like I have any experience in that sort of situation you face, well maybe one that was far less threatening at the Army.

I had a Basketball accident 2 months prior to my military service. My foot was acting up due to all the marshing exercise. The DOc did not take me seriously because I was also going to leave the Army to do civil service anyway. He talked with one of my officers for 30 minutes after kicking me out of the room.

Said officier later mentioned details of my injury in front of other officers. I immediatly asked for the name of the Doc and got excused from marshing and sports "without any certain timeframe" meaning as long as somebody says it is not valid anymore. :)

Maybe I just got lucky that people who tried to harm me in my past where mostly idiots.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44