Blockchain, Jellyfish, and a developing obsession with transaction permanence.

in #blockchain6 years ago
As the people who have been following along will know, I have a photography show currently hanging at a hospital in Hudson, WI, of metal prints of my close-up jellyfish photos. They look like this:

The Dictator of Spring's Brilliance.jpg

Or, if you prefer to see them in situ, like this:

hudson3.jpg

Now, the jellyfish have a problem, or rather the first batch of jellyfish prints have a problem. These photos are a couple years old, so the jellyfish themselves are almost certainly beyond problems by now. But the first seven prints that I ordered, back when I was first working on these and figuring out if they worked as metal prints, came with a very non-standard hanging system, one that just doesn't work with gallery standards for security.

This was a technical problem, one that was easily solved in the long term by ordering the majority of the prints for this show from a different supplier who could provide standard hanging hardware. But for those particular seven, I jury-rigged what I thought was a solution using command hooks.

It hasn't turned out to be a solution. In fact, they've been falling off the wall. The show coordinator has had a much better attitude about this than I deserve, and as of today we decided to just take those seven down and keep them in her office until I come to pick them all up; the remaining seventeen with proper hanging hardware serve well enough as a display.

Blockchain doesn't come into this at all on a technical level, but this is where it comes in on a personal, attitude level. I find myself obsessing about making sure that all of our communication is in a form that I can keep a permanent record of. In this case that should be more important to the hospital than it is to me: they're insured against damage to my work that isn't my fault, and this is damage to my work that is my fault, so it's probably good for them to have a record of it.

The Breathless Rigidity of Pseudoscience.jpg

But because I'm now interacting with blockchain systems on a daily basis, I'm thinking a lot about whether there's a permanent record of things, and I'm making it more and more important in the choices that I make in the rest of my life. So when something like this happens, I'm making sure that my communication is in email rather than over the phone, and that I keep a copy of that email. I'm making sure that I communicate clearly in that message what has happened, that it was my responsibility, and that I have consented to the solution that the coordinator has suggested. I'm doing that with the current situation of them falling down, and I did that when I mildly damaged one of them before taking them to the show in the first place.

Because it just seems like everything is easier on everyone that way. I don't know if this gets me anything in the short run or the long run. I don't know if this is appreciated or if people just see me as weirdly obsessive. I've occasionally tried to nail down bets with normal people in ways that are standard in the gambling industry, and I've gotten a lot of weird looks over that. I'm guessing this might be a similar thing.

But I also think I might be among the first in a sea change where everyone starts thinking this way as blockchain becomes a more commonplace part of the logistics of their lives. If you get used to having indelible records of every transaction, pretty soon you get to expect it, and want it whenever it's possible.

Solemn Solidarity Wading Through Pools of Calm.jpg

I'd certainly like that with my medical records, where I only notionally have access to them and other people can alter than whenever they like. A few years ago I managed to talk a friendly physician's assistant into removing a bunch of old misdiagnoses from my records. Even though that's good for me, it probably shouldn't have been possible. But I also should have been able to record that they were misdiagnoses.

Records management is not sexy the way money is, but it's one place where blockchain is almost certain to have a huge impact in how we relate to each other and how we think about the things that we do. The more adoption cryptocurrency gets as money, the closer it becomes to existing money on a conceptual level. Even if it's wildly successful, mostly it's going to be as a technical underlayer for doing all of the same things we already do.

Records management, though, is a field that blockchain could change the entire conception of. I think that's pretty exciting.

She Speaks The Language of Pears.jpg

Sort:  

The best kind of people are drawn to this level of accountability.

Great post. This is one thing I love about Steemit: I was just thinking about this subject of blockchain today, where its headed etc. (ok, nebulously pondering is more accurate), and then I tune in to your post & BAM! You have already done a bunch of good thinking & boiled it down into an inteligible post! Bravo!

Thanks. Long walks in the afternoons thinking about blockchain both produce this sort of post and is the name of my next Paul Simon pastiche album.

Awsome. Keep up the great work!

This comment is not related to this post at all.
I just got accepted into the MB whitelist. First thing I see is that a ton of people are invited in by you. At least 60% of my page 1 is all invites from you(I haven't even ventured into page two).

It will continue to be entertaining as you progress through the pages. I broke 2000 available invites today, if only I could find the users to spend them on.

Wow. Finding quality users who aren't already on the whitelist is hard. I went through a lot of people who I was following to find someone who wasn't already whitelisted.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-05T00:46:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 120.95/200.00
Total Photos: 19
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The jeelywish looks like anet fabric spread over the water great click

Hi @tcpolymath!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.272 which ranks you at #2470 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2474).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 188 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I wish we had an easy way to even see the photos we have uploaded into past posts!!!

nice opinion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40