The Blockchain is Immutable, Like the Akashic Records

in #blockchain7 years ago (edited)

Dear Fellow Steemit Friends,

I wonder what time it is where you are? I wonder what time it will be when you read this? I wonder if what I write will connect with you. I wonder who my new friends are, because I know you're out there heading straight towards me, either on a beeline, or in a roundabout kind of way.

There are some truths that are so obvious that they escape our comprehension. One of the truths is that the blockchain is immutable. We've heard this a million times. But what does it mean in real life?

Well, here's an example: If you've ever tried to edit one of your posts here on Steemit, you'll notice something interesting: There is no delete button.

There is an edit button, but no delete.

Which is to say that whatever is done cannot be undone.

So say you posted something earlier in the day, really something as an experiment. As a way to try to test the temperature here, to see what people like and don't like, because you're new around here.

Say you posted something like : "New Japanese Robot Dog Will Smell Your Feet", and then maybe you thought better of it later, at 1:00am in the morning. Because you're new here, and lacking in confidence in this new place, and no one really liked it, it only got two votes, one of which was mine (ha ha ha!).

reflections.jpg

But no delete button.

I'm sure you can blank it all out and save it, but whatever you wrote before is indelibly burned onto the Blockchain for ever, and ever. For all eternity, for all of time, as long as time exists.

It is not written in pencil, like in the good old days of analog, and it is not written in ink, like in the days of the Old Internet.

The Blockchain is more like the Akashic Records, burned eternally and forever into the Mind of God:

In theosophy and anthroposophy, the Akashic Records are a compendium of all human events, thoughts, words, emotions and intent ever to have occurred in the past, present or future. They are believed by theosophists to be encoded in a non-physical plane of existence known as the etheric plane. There are anecdotal accounts but no scientific evidence for existence of the Akashic records #### ( Wikipedia)

What does that sound like to you?

It kind of sounds like the Blockchain to me.

Sort:  

I wish I'd seen this a day ago. I definitely would have resteemed it. Great article!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68828.89
ETH 3759.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43