You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Can't We Make Steem Become More Decentralized? Some Random Thoughts After The 'Crash'

in #blockchain6 years ago

Well it's actually good that it went down, since the blockchain stops operating mostly for security reasons. If the blockchain would go ahead operating, even though it received an inconsistent information, then this could seriously harm the whole chain/network.

I have deep respect for blockchain developers in general since I feel that most of us have no idea how complex such a system can be. So I'm just full of hope that with every setback we'll be wiser and better and be stronger :-)

Wishing you a great weekend!
Btw I only replied late due to the issues with my account... sorry for that.

Sort:  

So I'm just full of hope that with every setback we'll be wiser and better and be stronger :-)

I sure hope so, and I agree very much that "freeze" is a lot better than a long-lasting chain fork with the risk of double spends, etc.

Still, I think it's very important that historic data from the blockchain is always available, and it should not be that difficult to achieve, even in a frozen blockchain. After all, long-term immutable robust storage is one of the selling points of the blockchain technology, then it looks pretty bad that a small bug causes a total outage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46