An adventure in CPU mining begins

in #blockchain7 years ago

I'm sat here on a Sunday morning with a choice between writing my reports for next week or doing something a little more interesting. As an eth and btc hodler I was curious to at least have a go at mining something and it's pointless right now to do this on either of those currencies unless you're prepared to setup contracts online or buy some kit.

So with my humble corei7 laptop what can I do?

Over to http://cpucoinlist.com/ which proved pretty helpful. There's a good list of currencies over there so I picked one that had a functioning site, a community on Reddit that seem to post a couple of times a day and looks alive.

Next Steps

I downloaded the wallet and installed, conscious of I would need a Wallet ID. I then spotted the mine button in the wallet interface. Gave it a quick test and it looked like it was hashing so that seemed positive.

Off to setup a nice secure password for the wallet and wait for the re-sync to finish.

It's now resyncing and let's see if it generates anything at all :)

Sort:  

Cool i cant wait to see haw it works for you.I have been trying EObot but it dont do mutch.

I'd recommend Monero for CPU mining!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48