You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to the Sausage-Fest!

in #blockchain6 years ago

I get what you are saying, but I must say that I disagree what how it is being said. You state, "in order to get more women on the blockchain, there needs to be more women on Steemit and Dtube and the blockchain."

Feeling "safe and represented" is not the majorities responsibility. I hope I am not coming off as too harsh and calloused. I am trying to say that it should be the the burden of those who want to be at the top to strive and reach it. I am not a fan of quotas or affirmative action in order to force social change. The blockchain, Steemit, and Dtube could be the closest we have ever came to true equal opportunity. I hope they are not pressured into giving favors and special treatment to those who feel oppressed.

Maybe Steemit and Dtube are not the perfect solution and things may change. Maybe there will be another social blockchain platform that will outperform Steemit and leave it obsolete. I wish these things would happen organically and naturally and not due to a handful of folks who feel shut out or left out.

Sort:  

That's nice and all, but Dtube votes aren't organic, and that's what I am specifically talking about. If you want things to be natural and organic, then I highly suggest removing Dtube votes altogether so as to not create any kind of favoritism. All I am asking for is that if women have good content, for them to be considered as Dtube considers its male users.

But of course painting someone who strives for any degree of equality as someone who just feels oppressed is easier to do than to have a rational conversation about what I was actually talking about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33