You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THOUGHTS AROUND VERO SOCIAL

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Vero looks interesting, but in short: I think the era where you have to pay to use a product is 'over'. The new era is: we get paid to use a product / produce content. Steemit is an example, but if we're talking about Instagram alternatives, take a look at steepshot.com (still in alpha, but on the STEEM blockchain) - or https://appics.com/ - another 'Insta alternative' with STEEM based crypto rewards :-)

I strongly believe the 'tokenization' of the internet via blockchains even means we will get paid to see sponsored content / ads in the future :-) Or watch a movie, or... Anything really.

These are exciting times and it will change the way we think about what 'social' media actually is :-) And what the worth of the content makers is.

Sort:  

Exactly what I was going to say + Smart Media Tokens

Yes, + SMT's indeed :-)

I'm with you here. While content creators (film + tv creators, recording artists, authors, digital creatives, etc) should still earn for their production, the consumption of content is no longer a one-way road.

Content is Created ---> Content is Hosted ---> Content is Delivered ---> Content is Consumed

Now, it is more like Content is Consumed and Data of Consumption is Produced Simultaneously

Therefore, the value of data produced is value-equal to or greater than the cost of content consumption outright. I can't see myself paying to be on a social network because I already pay (exorbitantly for a phone plan that allows me to share with my closest), I have Steemit, and the free social networks ridden with ads don't serve me anything beyond visual inspiration and the occasional item from a distant internet friend.

I simply can't see myself investing any time into things that don't give back anymore.

@ameliabartlett, totally agree. No reason to be on a platform that doesn't serve us anymore.

So, my question though is thinking ahead a bit— So would there be some sort set up similar to AdSense on this platform that allows brands to run content ads on other creators work here?

What would the divide / difference between a product selling business for example, a jewelry company, and a content creator (personal brand)? Would it be just like blogger, were you can allow sponsorships, ads etc? You'd have that stream of income in addition to the engagement / steem power?

Just thinking out lout over here! Still a newb to some of this.

You know, I've thought about it but I've concluded that I'm not sure... and I'm not yet creatively open enough to imagine what is possible beyond advertising. What's special about the blockchain is that it's different from what we have now. It's true innovation. If we were to put ads on this, we are devolving it into something that already exists. *As I learn more about Steemit, I start to get ideas as to how this can grow and molt... but try looking at past versions of Steemit (check out Hardforks and understand the journey) and see how it's evolved over time.

Super interesting perspective. I never thought of the idea that advertisers could pay an individual to see their ad, instead of that ad money going to the host of the ad. That's kind of how Adsense works already, isn't it? Content creators can elect to have ads running before their video or on their website, and they get paid for it.

But when it comes to a social platform, the platform just pockets that money. So, that distribution of advertising money would go right to the content creator, instead of the platform host?

100% see it now.

I do see more short therm before blockchain technology is adopted by the masses, different categories of products. In this case, access to media and content. For example, Netflix, Hulu... your favorite print or online magazine subscription. All those things you pay a fee for to access, and/or pay for less ads. So, I almost see Social Media being something similar?

But! I am about to go check out steepshot and appics because I haven't looked into those yet!

Thanks for your thoughts, @soyrosa — really made me think!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60647.08
ETH 3349.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47