You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lympo - Sports & Health Ecosystem Powered by User-Generated & User-Controlled Data

in #blockchain6 years ago

Thanks for this, it's a great post and so useful to learn more about this. I'm fairly new to Crypto and not in a position to invest in the token sale but I'll definitely be keeping tabs on this one now. As a triathlete and climber something like this would be great for someone like me, I've seen talk of sports related tokens like this but I've never actually read into them and had it explained like you have here. I love the idea, I guess my only hangup is one that's pretty common among new tokens and ICOs, the dependence on the token having value for it's success. Without a value the userbase, especially the personal trainer side of it, will really struggle to gain momentum. Hopefully a good token sale will go a long way to bolstering a big release with people really getting things going from the word go!

Sort:  

thanks @skiesandsports. As a triathlete, I'm sure you'll one day soon be able to earn LYM tokens via sponsorship of events. The token has a sale price so it has an inherent value on launch. When sports companies become interested in using the tokens (and this is particularly attractive to global companies like Nike & Adidas) as it's by far the best, most secure and efficient way to distribute awards (and collect valuable analytics) the token will inevitably be worth the excesss of demand vs the available supply. It will dovetail with many different types of mHealth apps so could be successful on a global scale. I think you will probably one day in the near future, have a Lympo wallet full of tokens which you'll be able to spend on new shoes, supplements and maybe even a post event sports massage :)

It's a pretty crazy idea but I love that all of this makes sense to me now I understand blockchain more thoroughly. The idea of different tokens/coins for different sectors and interests is a really fascinating one to me, especially if they are all tied in to something like ETH. I think I'm just super curious to see how long this will all take, I know when we're all on something like Steemit we see it as being very close but I can't help but feel we're still all early adopters. I think maybe we're looking at more like 10+ years before blockchain is properly embraced.

Just finished an hour and a half slogging away on the indoor bike, imagine a world where next to your 'speed/cadence' is 'LYM Earned' just ticking slowly up. Now THAT would be a motivator!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33