You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Filecoin ICO To Kick Off On August 7th - And It's Not What You'd Expect

in #blockchain7 years ago

Thanks for the info! But why do you like the fact that you need to be accredited as an investor? This move is just a step to regulation, and makes poorer people that are willing to support great projects unable to. It also guarantees the rich get ricer.
Isn't the philosophy behind blockchain crypto that it's decentralised and no entry needed? I don't know, this kind of defeats the purpose.

Nonetheless, thanks for informing us!

Sort:  

I think there's a very thin balance between regulation as a tool for keeping scammers at distance and regulation as a tool for keeping people in herds, like sheep. In this case, I don't think this is a very good move for Filecoin. There is already some serious competition: Storj or Sia to name just a few.

I'm not versed in the cryptosphere si I do not know about those options you point out. And I don't think some regulation is necessarily bad. But what is asked here is just a barrier that prevents any kind of input from the majority of the world.
You seem to agree in this comment, but in the article you claim you like it. That drove me to write that comment. I'm now assuming it was a typo. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50