Blockchain Confusion

in #blockchain5 years ago

I have been trying to find the perfect blend of communities for regular blogging as well as a place that could host my videos, kind of like youtube, but somewhere I can monetize them and not have any issues with strikes and the like.

My blog is still in its infancy, so I figured If i'm going to start it up fully, I might as well move to the community I want to be in already instead of waiting and then having to migrate loads of posts later in its life. A wholly time consuming and daunting aspect if its not automated.

I found a TON of sites that theoretically could work, but now I am more confused because I don't know which will allow custom domains for the blogs and which video sites allow for quick uploading and streamlined easy to use tools.

These are the sites I've found:
BLOGGING: So far I've noticed steemit is a good place to write, but there is also a very interesting place called Engrave and that syncs up to steemit but also gives you a different, easier to remember, blog url. right now mine is at dblog.org but if i can later change it to my custom url that would be great, i think you can only do it when you create a blog, and so that would leave me dead in the water i believe.

Right now I have my blog on tumblr, just because its so much easier to just write on every device and embed videos and pictures from various social media. I had my blog previously on github pages, so i'm not opposed to a bit more elbow work when it comes to something that I can engage in with a community.

For VIDEO we had a lot more choices and thus confusion:
D.tube- easy to use, if not finicky with what web browser it works in on any given day (if you're posting directly) otherwise you can always upload to youtube and then link it to dtube. Kind of a roundabout way of uploading, but alas, it works when you want to be quick about it.

bittubers.com- used to be bit.tube, but they're rebranding. I like the site look, but there is also an issue i'm having in every browser that doesn't let me upload videos. It kind of reminds me of old school myspace, honestly.

LBRY- requires you to download a program and theres a whole download each video you watch and seed it kind of thing going on. Its not complicated, but you can't link to your own youtube page directly after its synced because they haven't finished that bit in the program. So the only way to upload to your synced page is by just uploading to youtube, which is kinda against the point of wanting to go blockchain, but I guess since i'm a small channel it doesn't matter much about abandoning youtube as it would people with a big following.

View.ly- seems easy enough, but you have to pay ETH to upload your videos so its not ideal for something simple like daily vlogging when you're not sure you'll make anything at all from it.

bitchute.com- I haven't used this one as much, but apparently I had an account before all the other areas, so that has to be saying something. Not as familiar, but I do know some people i follow on youtube have backup bitchute accounts.

minds.com- not sure if its for video or writing yet, but it looks like a kind of news paper kind of place. more editorials and journalism than anything blog/vlog ish.

It's all complicated. The only ones i know that kind of work together easier are steemit and dtube, but i wanted to put it out there, which sites and communities are really working and which ones are kind of dead at the moment?

also TL;DR video: https://d.tube/v/rolycoaster/Qy1xLvqJD-o

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88