Blockchain for social impact: Crowdfunding

in #blockchain6 years ago

Since my transformation into social entrepreneurship and creating profitable businesses for good, I have been digging around the internet for blockchain applications or projects related to social impact or making the world a better place. I know we're still at the start of the global movement, so there aren't a whole lot of them out there yet. But I like to share what potential diamonds I am finding and will start sharing them here.

A few weeks ago I came across KindTrust, a decentralized crowdfunding platform that's looking to be inclusive to all people. The founders are Coleen Wong and Monica Santos. Yes, two women, how amazing!! (@crypthoe, Blockchain Babes in action here <3)

They participated in the blockchain for social impact hackathon and actually won in their category (which was supply chain, which partly made sense, but then again also not.... but that's a whole other story!)

They created this video to explain the concept and I really liked it, if this thing can see the light of day the number of people with access to crowdfunding will be so much more and all donors can completely track their donations, all the way down to how the owners of the project spend it. That's pretty cool and imagine if we can implement that alone for big NGO's!

kindtrust youtube.png

KindTrust is still in its infancy and I'm not sure when we actually will be able to see it in action. As I'm not a coder their github is a mystery to me, but I'll definitely will be following them.

This is just one example of how blockchain can create social impact. I'll be researching and studying, sharing and creating a database of the ones I can find. If you are aware of any blockchain for social impact project, I would love to hear about it!

Have a great day!

Hug, Rianne

Sort:  

We are really excited about you getting into the space. We encourage you to check out our work at the Digital Reserve. We are really embarking on a journey that may interest you. Let us know what you think. Our focus is really to combat predatory lending and high interest rates through a borrower focused system.

And here is another one: http://impactn.global . We`ll set up a social network for social impact, using blockchain for tokenisation of social impact, p2p funding and selfgovernance. See you at steemfest in Kraków? Best, Jan deckblatt.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67644.39
ETH 3483.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65