Hi everyone! (Startup founder hoping to learn/contribute)

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Hey there. My name is Stu Campbell, a Michigander getting into the LA blockchain scene

I came to Steemit b/c of my friend John (@foodisfree), but I'm just now posting my first one.

I'm here because I like the mission, that a good creator can be rewarded, but I'd love to also post ideas about the blockchain frontier in general and see what folks think about long-term theory and potential.

I'll be launching my first startup (@rhizmarket, rhizmarket.com) this spring which is a simplified business marketplace featuring ETH-backed escrow for payment and a ratings system for small businesses that we're pretty geeked about (still in stealth but releasing ASAP).

My background is non-profits, community organizing, and just general changed-minded service like AmeriCorps but I've come to startups and now blockchain as a way to actually CREATE change vs. hoping it'll come from someone else. My first business was a permaculture landscaping firm but I couldn't stop thinking about doing something bigger, I just didn't know what.

RB with Logo Overlay.jpg

It may sound crazy, but I'd always felt I could do something for the world...so landscaping in N. Michigan wasn't going to cut it.

I've been researching Rhiz for over 2 years now as a side project and am close to being able to commit full-time now, which is a dream in itself. My co-founder and I have already had several huge roadblocks that could've derailed us, but we kept making detours. I'm also thankful to have a patient wife (who was so fed up with my business attempts she said "fine, I'll write my novel, then!"...which will soon be published!) and am glad there's a burgeoning community of others, like this, interested in decentralizing and democratizing power.

lawn revamp2.jpg

Rhiz was originally a gardening app ^ with augmented reality, but I kept the name because it's short for Rhizome...also a decentralized, leaderless, fast growing network! I think it's still perfect and am looking forward to talking about it, hearing what others are doing, and helping grow new systems of wealth, knowledge, and community.

I'm at @rhizaboveit on Twitter, LinkedIn, etc. and am looking forward to connecting.

Thanks everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43