You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blockchain Technology Comprehension. A Survey On Distributed Systems -Part 1

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Hey, what's up my friend? It's very fascinating that you want to use this platform to develop a blockchain, step by step.

I was thinking last week that data on the internet about this technology is very voluminous, therefore if you want to immerse in this new knowledge ocean for the first time alone you can feel afraid (joke lol).

Well, I am really interested in your project, I would like to share with you my basic knowledge of the networks. But first I have a request for you:

I would like to see a roadmap for example, where you present in time concrete objectives.

And I have a question for you:

When you refer a Consisting and Availability, do you refer to TCP and UDP protocols?

Well, I am anxious for the next post and for your answer.

separadorplumesteemit.png

Sort:  
Thanks for your response. It is nice to know that the idea I have might catch someone's attention. Despite being thousands of others out there trying the exact same thing xD

There is no roadmap yet to show, I only know that I will invest this last semester of 2018 to gather as much information as I can, and to invite as many talented people as possible to join this venture. I don't know yet if I am just wishfully thinking or if the goal of creating a self-governed and self-managed public budget platform is feasible in my country.

Of course, I believe it is, but I cannot state that with numbers on my hand due to being still in a design stage phase. If you want to jump in and start writing on the blackboard I will be pleased to welcome you.

Speaking about your TCP/UDP question, In my post, I wasn't pointing out a specific system design for network communication. I tried to explain in simple terms some of the theoretical limitations of actual technology for distributed system design.

Yet you can see those theoretical concepts reflected upon the functioning of TCP/UDP. Because with TCP data can only be transmitted once a connection is established, data is ordered, listed and checked to avoid errors. High consistency is prioritized over high availability. With UDP, we can see the opposite trade-off; because while using UDP data is just sent in packages around the internet without guaranteeing prior connections, error checking or listing, you have high availability preferred over high consistency.

Two simple examples to illustrate the usage of this different protocols are files downloading services and live broadcasting. When downloading a file, it is of best interest to keep the packages that add up to form the final file without errors and properly ordered; thus TCP is used in this services. While life broadcasting it is important to reduce network latency, because what matters most is to be updated with the event that is life broadcasted; since listing and error checking consume time, UDP will be used in life broadcasting services.

I hope my explanation may have fully answered your question. If not, feel free to further ask.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58416.09
ETH 2514.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34