You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A few thoughts about Blockchain technology and Steem.

in #blockchain6 years ago

Personally I think if we can lift some of the Barriers to entry it will be a major boost for steem. Take for example, the issue of keys--private/ posting keys. That on its own is a hurdle which many people would won't want to pass. An average internet wants to create a password they can remember not one created for them, which they have to save somewhere safe, and if misplaced have no other alternative of retrieving it. I think this issue is being looking into currently. I think once we make it easy for people to use this technology it will go a long way in improving its patronage. However, blockchain/steem needs more exposure. Many people are not aware of what's going here; many don't even care. But I think someday it will matter and it is a gradual process.

As for imitating existing products/services and platform, I think we should not be looking at competing with existing systems but find out own niche. Steem may never be as big as Facebook or eBay or other established systems but it can be big enough to cater for the needs of some people.

I believe blockchain technology is the future. And if you ask me, it has not even been hyped enough. Like I said earlier. Alot is going on here that most people do not know about. When people think blockchain or cryptocurrency bitcoin is the first thing that comes to mind. But you and I know it is bigger than that. And it is our responsibility, as early adopters to let them know.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you for taking the time to give this input. I'm honoured.

Steem may never be as big as Facebook or eBay or other established systems but it can be big enough to cater for the needs of some people

I agree. I might have referred to the entire crypto space using Steem as an analogy. But still, someday, I hope we can find at least some of these features. Not necessarily to compete because I believe these things could work alongside each other. Like I've always pointed out, there's only a few things wrong with centralized systems. They work perfectly. But they could be better. And It'll make for a complete Steem ecosystem if we can have them and actually use them.

I believe blockchain technology is the future. And if you ask me, it has not even been hyped enough.

Maybe, maybe not. Emerging tech takes time to develop. I think with the recent scams, all the hype might have done is make people lose money in such an early stage, which is kinda okay, if we consider that the exact thing happened during the .com bubble.

However, the hype has worn off with the market trend and the time has now come for actual work to be done rather than speculation. Our responsibility on educating people would yield better results if we have more stuff going for us than there is right now.

To the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83