New Account, New Hope, New Beginning

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)


Hi everyone,

My name is Nazri and I'm from Malaysia. It has been 10 years or so since the last time I've used Wordpress as my preferred blog's hosting site and let me tell you something, I've never felt so enthusiastic to start blogging again. Maybe it's due to the fact that someone has finally created a plugin which enables me to write an article on Wordpress site and at the same time, publishes it on the Steemit platform. Even though the Steemit account which is associated with this Wordpress blog is a new account, I'm actually have joined Steemit for quite sometimes (since last year) which I've registered myself as @n4zriofficial.

Since last year, I've been thinking, what kind of essence that I have been missing since the moment my account was approved by the Steemit management. Well, I haven't found it till now. Anyway, as usual, with a new account, comes new objectives. I have been messing around with my old account too much while studying the mechanics of the Steemit platform. It appears complicated at first, but eventually, with time, I've managed to catch up with it. It's really not that difficult, really. I remember the first time when I've discovered Steemit, I'm so desperate at that time to make some extra bucks. Eventually, despite the excitation I've experienced from discovering Steemit, I've become frustrated by the result and eventually, I quit after 1 month of trying.

Starting Over, Greed and Upvote Bots


After quitting for two or three months, I don't remember much, I navigate through the platform again only to realise that the value of Steem-based Dollar (SBD) and Steem have increased significantly. Imagine the excitation, when I first joined the platform, I bought 100 SBD at 0.99 USD per SBD and suddenly, the price spiked to 10 USD per SBD in November 2017 (well maybe much earlier). Suddenly, I became more desperate to earn SBD. I have this kind of imagination of living off a luxurious life, earning through blogging on the Blockchain. Well, I've never learned from my previous failed attempts and frustration of not getting a reasonable pay without proper objectives and plans.

I've decided to find a way to make it through the earning process on Steemit easier than some people who decided to spend 6-10 hours in front of their PCs, researching some facts, composing a thousand words article while earning merely a dime for their effort. That's when I've discovered some accounts which were dedicated to upvote a content in return for some SBD. For beginners, the investment made for an upvote bot service seems reasonable but the truth is, the earning system for each respective article after 7 days period is not 100%. I mean, from the expected earning value, 75% will be awarded to the author which will further be split into 50% SBD and another 50% as Steem Power. So, if you include Steem Power in the equation, it might be worth it, but I want to make a quick buck so my primary focus is the SBD, so, if we calculate, I'm actually losing a portion of money unless the ROI was 270%, which will make it an even value of SBD to what you have invested.


After losing some SBDs and a lot of research, I've found a few upvote bot services which gave between 280 to 300% of ROI. It seems reasonable and after confirming with the owner of that account, I invested in them as soon as I can. I thought my income has been fixed according to my calculation but oh boy, I'm so wrong. The expected earning value fluctuates according to the current Steem price and other factors. Of course, when the Steem price spiked up, I made a lot of ROI but when it plummeted, well, you can guess. I remember, one time, I spent 1 SBD on a single article and earn a potential payout of 3 SBD (after putting the value into the equation, my expected ROI is 0.125 SBD. It seems a little at that time but suddenly the value of SBD and Steem spiked up which made me earn a 500-700% ROI.

The problem with blogging while expecting ROI from your investment is, it made you felt anxious. You became calculative and you were never happy with what you were doing, especially when the price went down, in which it did, in January 2018. I'm frustrated and at that particular time, I felt like quitting again. The estimated ROI for most of the upvote bots have been reduced as well, in which, at one point, all of them doesn't even give you a 270% value of upvotes. I became frustrated, well again, and I quit, for just a little bit. Well, I guess it was just for a while.

WordPress and Steemit


In 2010, well, when I tried to discover my passions, I've tried blogging a few times, spending a lot of money on numerous hosting site service providers, premium WordPress themes and of course, Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) services. Being passionate about blogging is one thing, but when you have the compulsive need to satisfy your desire of having a good blog with a great appearance, it can really cost you (time, money, talent). Let me put it this way, even after 7 years of blogging, I've never felt happy with my websites which finally lead me to Steemit in 2017. I was quite impressed by the concept of this site and decided to give it a try. I love science and since I was a kid, my parents have been supportive for me to pursue my ambition on a science-related field so I've decided to create a science-themed blog on Steemit, to educate people on certain matters.

Well, after a few months of trying and quitting (you knew the story by now), I heard regarding @steempress-io and was wondering if I can make use of this opportunity to blog on the Wordpress while publishing my articles in the Steemit platform, possibly trying to find a few more people to join the platform. I will make an update maybe after a month from now, let see if it will works (I really hope it would). I felt excited even though the price of SBD and Steem were not much, so I guess, I can assume that my motivation to blog is because I want to do it rather than I have to do it. Learn from my mistake, I might have lost a few hundred bucks, committing mistakes but it doesn't mean you have to as well. You just need to know what is the fuel that drives you here and let the thing unravel by its own as you go along. Good luck to us all and may Steemit keep on flourishing.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://n4zrizulkafli.com/index.php/2018/06/22/new-account-new-hope-new-beginning/

Sort:  

@n4zrizulkafli, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Welcome to Steem, @n4zrizulkafli!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2787 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.4 : Two new features on Busy and bug fixes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83