You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to the Sausage-Fest!

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Your video seemed funny at first but you raised some serious issues. I can understand guys trying to flirt with women and stuff but that's sad if women are being treated poorly and being harassed. :(
It does seem like the online world is mostly guys. Perhaps it's because of harassment? I'm not sure. Guys do seem more into techy stuff and revolution type stuff.
Have you talked to @whatsup? She is a woman and seems to be pretty "integrated". Her content is also pretty good.

Sort:  

Yeah I mean this was based for sure on generalities. There may be men who enjoy makeup tutorials, but considering the curation team is likely mostly if not all men for dtube, it's clear the kind of content that "men" on here enjoy.

I am so used to being harassed by men, that it's not surprising at all that it has followed me onto the blockchain. I guess what I find most egregious is these "be positive, stay positive evangelists" (as they identify themselves) not supporting the women on here. A few of them have even been part of the problem.

If I tell a guy friend on here, that I feel fairly close to that I am being sexually harassed in private chat, "boys will be boys" is not the response I am hoping for.

I hate that I haven't really been taken seriously on here, and that there are men who really think that I am so desperate to be successful that I will exchange my dignity for a few more upvotes.

As I said, I am disappointed, but not surprised...

Uh yeah there are some males that even use makeup. I am not one of those type of guys. lol In general I think women should use less makeup but I guess women do normally look better with some makeup than none.

Maybe I can help teach you how to regulate. lol You are a little "low" on Steem Power though so you still do have to be very careful on here. It kind of seems like this is the most censored platform and the most free platform all at the same time. lol Sorry about the harassment though. I think it's good you are raising awareness.

If I was there when it happened hopefully I could have helped or offered a positive suggestion. Perhaps you could have had him banned but hard to say.

In general I think guys probably do objectify women too much but I don't think women are 100% innocent when it comes to that though.

I haven't noticed much yet but then again it kind of seems like Steemit is about 90% men.

On a brighter note your videos do seem better than most. I generally prefer blogs but your videos seem ok in that I would not try and get you off Dtube and onto Steemit like I would most Dtubers. I can read very fast probably about 4x of a Dtube video speed if Dtube would ever work right. lol I could probably go through about 10 blog posts in the time it takes for 1 Dtube video. #rant #sorry lol

https://steemit.com/women/@mysearchisover/women-1-bounty-135

Thanks for sharing my post!

Yeah I am really not much of a vlogger. I want to produce real content, but it's hard to justify that time and investment when Dtube upvotes everything equally.

I have also been trying to Steemit full-time.

So, in order to pay bills, do I produce content that will get upvoted by spending an hour on it, or produce content that will get the same upvote by spending days on it?

I am actually working on a new series, and I am going to drop the first episode next week. It's a short comedy series. Dtube needs more content and less vlogs!!

That's just my personal opinion though!

It was a good post about important issues. Also important it provided me with content. lol I was going to talk about bots but I was having to much bot difficulty to even talk about it. lol

You seem to be a pretty good vlogger. I get annoyed by a lot if not most of the vloggers on here but your content seems to be worth watching. A lot of content I feel I am forced to watch because it's people that are "in the know".

Right now Steemit is my full time gig. If my metrics hold I guess it may always be my full time gig unless I get a job trying to save the world. lol

Have you reduced your bills?

I can see why people make all the Dtube videos for the big Dtube upvote but my metrics are holding up I just hope they continue to hold up. I get annoyed by people that ramble on. I think the typical Dtube video could be half as long. I also think at this point in time Youtube works better but people only upload to Dtube and not both.

Have you tried out Dlive? I think I like Dlive better than Dtube although I don't think Dlive has that big upvote that everybody craves. I think it's unfortunate that only gamers seem to go live on Dlive.

You don't want to sign up for @dustsweeper?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33