The Promise of the Blockchain by Vinay Gupta

in #blockchain7 years ago (edited)


I watched this recently and thought it was amazing. It's partly a history of technology for the last 50 or so years and partly a description of how we navigate the rapid change we're quickly going to face in the future.

I love his explanation of Cypherpunk culture and the massive role it has played in shaping our society. I also think he makes a great point about developers and the autism spectrum. Some of the advice he gives for understanding the future?

"Start reading Cyber Punk."

9 months ago, I suggested you need more cyber in your life. Vinay Gupta gives a much more compelling case here.

The closing statment was so profound, so amazing to me, I had to pause the video and replay it a few times so I could copy it down:

"If you share the myths that the technical class have when they create these things, you can begin to understand the technology in a mythic way, which is how we understand it. You have to learn the ways of our people because you are living in the world we create for you."

You may think "living in the world we create for you" is a bit of an overstatement. If so, please watch the entire talk. I think it's a frighteningly accurate description of our modern technological society.

I've reached out to @leashless on Twitter who I think is here on Steemit as @hexayurt. As mentioned here, I will send all liquid rewards of this post to his account.

I hope you enjoy his talk as much as I did.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

Glad you liked that video friend :) !

Thanks for letting me know about it! :)

Consensus bulding learning in blockchained communities can be a virus leading to decentralization initially by the concept of open-source software as common property, the first "conspiracy" of private citizens against the State and the concept of private centralized software that make Code as Law for private profit and "back-doors" for stealing our privacy.

"We will create a civilization of the Mind in Cyberspace. May it be more humane and fair than the world governments have made before." J. P. Barlow - February 8, 1996

Ideas that require government violence seem pretty poor to me. I'm all about decentralized ways to increase freedom and wellbeing. As for privacy, I have some thoughts on that here. It's kind of a new thing.

Every word that he spoke was gold. What a great explanation of how things have evolved and where they are headed. We are all part of a massive revolution and it is unfolding right in front of our eyes.

Have a great one! :)

Really glad you liked it. It's rare that a presentation makes me go WOW! so much.

lukestokes Luke Stokes tweeted @ 16 Apr 2017 - 19:35 UTC

@leashless I just watched your Promise of the Blockchain talk on Vimeo and really enjoyed it. Are you @hexayurt on steemit?

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Despite the risk of the narrative fallacy, I think the historical perspective on related technologies acts as a great introduction to the blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54461.78
ETH 2294.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28