You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blockchain UTXO Model is a Dead End for General Purpose Applications

in #blockchain7 years ago

I'm glad to know you've changed your mind about posting here. Do you have plans to remove your witness votes or will you continue to monitor the community and exert influence there?

As for this:

Steem and Bitshares adopt a message based approach. In this case, the blockchain represents a consensus over the order of messages and the state is deterministically derived from these messages.

I've been diving into BitShares / Open Ledger the last few days and learning more about how things work. Pretty amazing stuff, and I'm looking forward to learning more. I'm curious how BitShares will hold up against the Ethereum community which seems to have a lot of attention right now. From your perspective, are these projects similar in scope and if so, why should someone develop on BitShares over Ethereum?

Sort:  

The simple answer?

Graphene doesnt really have this problem...

Ethereum is not using UTXO model.. that's another issue.

When I replied to Dan, I assumed Ethereum was using UTXO so before posting, I queried and found this: https://github.com/ethereum/wiki/wiki/Design-Rationale Seems they came to some of the same conclusions as to why UTXO has limits.

We need this kind of documents.

Looks like fuzzy needs to learn more about this part ;)

Thanks abit

Hah! That's funny. Is he tweeting from the future?

Edit: Or... I'm just thinking in terms of America's stupid date structure. :)

Edit2: there it is: https://twitter.com/VladZamfir/status/838006311598030848

So that raises the next question... what the hell? BitShares seems pretty freaking amazing (as does Steemit). Why the lack of love from the masses?

Maybe humans really are silly meat bags confused by shinny marketing.

Wow good catch. Not sure how that date is there...

My bad (see edits). It's just the day first, the month second. I found the original tweet. It's legit.

I really don't get why we stupid Americans put the month first. That makes no sense at all.

But its 3-26-17 though...i think u are right...

I just wonder how that date got onto screenshot...cause to me it looks like the future.

@lukestokes, that is one of my biggest peevs :)

But its 3-26-17 though.

My Swedish twitter UI says "4 mars 2017"

Oh wait. Mar...not may. Now it makes sense.

VladZamfir Vlad Zamfir tweeted @ 04 Mar 2017 - 12:40 UTC

Ethereum isn't safe or scalable. It is immature experimental tech. Don't rely on it for mission critical apps unless absolutely necessary!

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Looks like fuzzy needs to learn more about this part ;)

Thanks abit

Luke u and i should get a beee sometime....i have many thoughts on the matter and a pretty frigging large amount of history that makes it alll a very interesting story.

Man, definitely! You free some time next week? Let's make it happen. You can email me at luke.stokes @ gmail

Hopefully this gets documented.

Naw. But ill tell him a long story with my own perspective on the situation... ;)

He may well be getting someone to post for him so might not be reading the comments.

I doubt it. It looks like dans writing (unless hes been doing this for a long time with a ghost writer) :D

Lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82