How Should we us the Blockchain for Games?

Blockchain Games is a pretty new and exciting concept but many companies are not taking full advantage of it and they are even using it wrong.

On this video, the guys from Extra Credit make a some very good points. We should use the cool features from the Blockchain and not only fill the game with transactions that only benefit the owners of the game. Steemit has a lot of potential on this topic and people like @yabapmatt and @aggroed are doing a great job and going on the right track with @steemmonsters.

I imagine the possibilities and I want to be a part of this process, at least on the creative side. I recomend you watch the video above and if you're interested on learning more about Steem Monsters you can watch the two videos below, one is a short excerpt from an interview the owners of the game had and the other is the full interview.

Blockchain Games may or may not take over the future of gaming, it depends heavily on the way developers and creatives apply this technology and create awesome games.

Couple of examples of things that I think games on Steemit could do better, this is just my opinion:

  • In the case of @SteemNova maybe the developers could sell in-game resources to players and with part of the earnings they could invest in votes for thier daily reports or just split them between the Top 8 Alliances.

  • Talking about @SteemPunkNet, the developers could sell equipment, weapons, in-game items or temporary buffs for Steem or SBD to players so they can be more competitive on the Clockwork Arena. Also they could return the Benefactor Rewards to daily top players and this way the will be motivated to play daily. I stooped playing on my main account (@eddiespino) after I saw that that incentive was no longer active. Players will be motivated if they are rewarded in some way, even if it's small. I thank and congratulate the SPN team because they make a great effort to vote quality gaming content.

Sort:  

In the case of @SteemNova maybe the developers could sell in-game resources to players and with part of the earnings they could invest in votes for thier daily reports or just split them between the Top 8 Alliances

This would be pay2win style we are trying to avoid. Free 2 play and win 2 pay style is what bring players here.

I understand and I agree. And don't get me wrong the game is very fun and I keep playing on my personal account (@eddiespino) almost daily after almost 10 months of starting my journey on @SteemNova.

I'm on the 73th place and a member of an alliance that is dying and receiving only 0.007 SBD weekly it's not very encouraging.

I should look for another alliance...

Maybe you could sell something cosmetic on the game that fans like me could buy. I just want to see the game grow, I don't want to impose my points of view or annoy anyone with suggestions. This game truly has a lot of potential.

I remember watching this video before... Blockchain can be used in many creative ways in gaming, but we haven't found the best one yet.

Yes and that is one of my goals, to figure out the best way to apply the coolest things about the Blockchain in games.

Hi, @livingamestudios!

You just got a 0.06% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Regarding Extra Credits video -- that would be an interesting use for the blockchain tech, and it should be noted that there are already examples of this system, though its underlying ledger is an unknown quantity: Items in Valve's Team Fortress 2.

TF2's cosmetics or weapons you craft have your name as a permanent mark in their description. When additional single use permanent modification items are applied to them they can change colour, name and track the number of certain actions while the weapon/cosmetic is equipped (not just "kills", but things like "allies on extinguished") changing the items "level" in the process.
(I've not kept full track of Valve's games over the years, but I check in now and again to see what they're doing. Valve loves socio-economic experiments and I'm terribly fascinated by the subject.)

Handling a colossal database that has to keep track of the state of each instance of such items is an equally colossal undertaking and expense though. So for smaller and budget concious developers this is where blockchain innovation can play a vital role.

Wow, I didn't know TF 2 items worked like that, it is very interesting.

And I agree blockchain can take a vital role to handle information and transactions.

Thank you for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27