Presentation: What is a blockchain?

in #blockchain6 years ago

what-is-a-blockchain-1-638.jpg

About the presentation

On 8 September 2018, I made a simple presentation on what is a blockchain.

I was given about 40 minutes to speak on the basics of the blockchain. It wasn't that much time, but I tried anyway.

I am not an expert on blockchain, and it's not a simple topic to tackle, but I tried it anyway.

After the presentation, I got some feedback that it was a bit technical... So, I have added some comments before uploading it to Slideshare.

I hope that you enjoy the presentation!

Here are some of my observations:

Some people in the audience had heard of Bitcoin, but hadn't heard about blockchain.

Some people in the audience had heard about blockchain, but did not know that it was associated with Bitcoin.

In any case, it is important for you to know: Bitcoin was the first use case of the blockchain!

You should also know: If not for Bitcoin, we probably would not be seeing the blockchain today!

Why Bitcoin is amazing to me

Among other things, Bitcoin is amazing to me because:

  • It does not need a central authority to keep track of the number of bitcoins in circulation;
  • It does not need a central authority to keep track of bitcoin transactions;
  • It is resistant to tampering and hacking through Proof of Work and the use of hash to ensure integrity of records;
  • It can be transmitted anywhere, anytime, as long as the recipient has a Bitcoin wallet;
  • People from faraway countries can transact with each other easily;
  • Bitcoin has a public ledger which is perfectly auditable, making it possible to track the movement of bitcoins

Bitcoin has the potential to become one of the international currencies of the future, alongside the US Dollar, the Euro, and the Yuan.

One day we'll hear people saying, "What currency would you like to pay with: USD, Euro, Yuan, or Bitcoin?"

Anyway, if you're curious, you can see my presentation on "What is a blockchain".

Sort:  

Great post! I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44