Learning to program the Blockchain 101steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blockchain7 years ago (edited)

Cryptocurrency.jpg

Learning to program the Blockchain

I've been itching to write this all week. First off, I'm not a programmer by trade, but I have dipped my toe into various languages over the years (don't ask how many years). I also think it's important to understand (as much as possible) anything you have a passion for.

It was with this in mind that I decided to learn to program on the Blockchain.
I realize that this first step isn't going to have me releasing a world changing DAPP (Not yet anyway). But it should at least get me on the correct path.

First, I had to first decide which Blockchain I was going to use for development. It had to be a well established (as I didn't want my time to be wasted), but not too complicated (I'm no Stephen Hawking).

A quick search revealed a plethora of options, but with two main ones standing out, Bitcoin and Ethereum. That makes sense really, as they are the most well known/established and probably have the most information available about them. I haven't discounted things like EOS, there just isn't enough information on them at this point in time. However I do really like the idea of Ethereum with bots. so I may look at this in the future.

After a dig around, the following information raised itself to the surface and I'll be going through it to (hopefully) come to a conclusion on my way forward. My main criteria here was very low budget. As we're not all millionaires (yet)

Bitcoin:

  1. Free Online Bitcoin Programmin Book
    I can't believe that this is free. I have skimmed through it. It's C# based and I'm au fait with C# so definately an option.
  2. A Fantastic Resource On Bitcoincore.org
    Quite a bit of inormation and resource here whether you are just starting out or are a veteran, You can help out here and learn at the same time.

Ethereum:

  1. Some Solidity examples
    This resource and the parent site, looks like fantastic starting point for learning to program with Solidity. Solidity is Ethereums programming language.
  2. Udemy
    A quick search on Udemy provides some cheap course (when they are on sale). I'll have a wade through these and report back as to which (if any) I decide to try.

Other:

  1. A Explanation of Blochain with code from Lauri Hartikka
    I think this will be one of the first things I read thoroughly, and get my head around. After a brief skim through, it looks pretty idiot proof(great!)



I'm now armed with a starting point and will report back when I have decided on the way forward and made some inroads into the above resources.
No doubt everybody will have an opinion on the above information, the way forward, and the strengths and weaknesses of the different options.
I welcome all feedback. So, if you know of a resource I should look into then please let me know. I would love this to be a hub of information that people can add to as more is made available.

One of us has got to be the next ‎Mark Zuckerberg (but with some morals).

And, as always, Stay Steemy and Steem on!

If you found this information useful, click the follow button to learn some more or be kept up to date.

Sort:  

I would start with thinking about what is that I want to create. Researching into that will bring you to the programming which better suits you. Anyway good luck in your new beginnings.

That's some very sound advice buddy. I have a few things I'd like to create and they are polar opposites. So it will be interesting to see which way they swing.
Thank you for reading.
👍

Following! You you will follow back

great resources. Good luck with the venture

Thanks joe 👍

Im in the same boat you are. Dabbled in C++ long ago, but don't remember much. Blockchain has revitalized my interest in coding and computers in general and I want to take it up again. If for nothing else then to understand (even just slightly better) the crypto world of which I am now thoroughly addicted to.

On a side note:
the cypto world seems to favor linux over other computer OS. A friend of mine highly recommends getting to know the linux/command line because its "closer to a coders heart" as he says. Have you encountered similar persuasions?

My ultimate goal is just to get into blockchain programming. Does anyone think I should skip linux and dive directly into C++/python/solidity... or whatever code I end up pursuing.

Thanks for taking the time to read and feedback. I feel you. It's still a bit of a maze atm. But a maze worth navigating to be in early.
Good luck my friend.
👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66