You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dharma Protocol: Tokenized Debt and Funding Through Decentralized Systems

in #blockchain5 years ago

No worries about the memo, piotr uses them loads. People here on steemit may not like them much. Anyway, I also spent time in India, I'm impressed you are living there...unless you were born there of course.

I like the name "Dharma". Do you know that it is a Sanskrit word meaning "constitutional position" not just "religion". Religion is something you can change but constitutional position is something inherent, like the dharma of sugar is to be sweet. Our dharma is to be a servant of the divine. It doesn't matter if you are brahmana, ksatriya, vaishya or sudra and have mundane dharma in that caste, The dharma of every living entity is to be prakriti in relation to purusha. So I like the name.

But I don't promote debt in any form or shape whatsoever. It is immoral. Maybe I'm old-fashioned, it just intuitively repulses me. I have never been in debt and am approaching 60 years old now. Bad use of a good name with "Dharma".

And you like the "we" reference when talking about yourself. I presume you are writing for a company or something. What's that all about?

Sort:  

Hi @julianhorack

I'm aware of the meaning of "Dharma". Actually, I was told it meant 'duty' rather than 'constitutional position'.

The "we" and "I" variation can get quite confusing. Two people run this account. We're into different areas of expertise so we combined our heads and made this blog to help battle misinformation.

I think your stance is debt is quite respectable, sir. Many people have the same opinion. But in this case, it is more toward a business vertical than personal debt. Whether we like it or not, we cannot deny the need for debt while trying to scale a small business into a much bigger entity.

I believe (and this is a wild guess) the name "Dharma" was chosen based on the accurate depiction you've given. The platform will judge your for your default risk; not your social status and beliefs. You will not be charged higher because you live in a poorer area of a city, you will not be given a lower loan because your father knows a local politician.

Thanks for your comment and support. It's greatly appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to hear your further description of the loan system. Many thanks guys. I understand businesses often need to start with a loan. And your ethic sounds commendable.

Yes "dharma" usually is translated as duty and "Constitutional position" could be a deeper understanding of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48