AirBNB will tokenize itself before end of 2020 (prediction)

in #blockchain6 years ago

rsz_airbnb.jpg

tl:dr; Outlandish prediction that AirBNB will tokenize itself before the end of 2020. This will be a “Netscape moment” for blockchain/security tokens. Agree/Disagree?

More than a year ago, I coined (pun intended) the concept of the “reverse ICO” in an article in VentureBeat. It has become the preferred term in the industry, but aside from a few small start-ups like Kik and YouNow (plus some action in Korea), it hasn’t really materialized…yet.

I think it will once we get a bit more regulatory certainty.

And here’s a ridiculously bold prediction.

AirBNB is going to do it.

I thought about this when I saw an article in the Wall St. Journal called “Airbnb Proposes Giving Hosts a Stake in the Company: Home-sharing platform wants SEC to consider reforming shareholder eligibility rules.”

With public markets as they are (and the intensified scrutiny that comes from quarterly reporting of results-though some argue this is a good thing, like Fred Wilson, so you can’t dismiss it), I wonder if AirBNB sees an opportunity?

Why not?

It’s a network that requires trust (you need to trust the renter, etc.).

It provides liquidity for early investors and long-term alignment with the stakeholders (renters).

Well, I am sure there are plenty of reasons why not, but on the other hand, crazier things have happened.

You want a “netscape moment” for blockchain…AirBNB tokenizing itself would be one of them.

And, to back it all up…

I put that prediction into the Ethereum blockchain via Peepeth.

Finally, if you think I am wrong…fine.

I actually tried to set up a prediction market for it on Augur, but frankly, I have found the user experience to be horrible. Once I get it up and running (or on Gnosis), I will let you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56