You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EP1: 8Ps of LiveEDU - A Blockchain Application for Online Education

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Hi Cryptowarn,
Ok I have had some sleep and have had a chance to look at LiveEDU. I agree with most of what you have said (not that I really disagree with any of it).....
Here are my thoughts.

P1. While I agree that Udeny , Lynda et al mainly cater for the early stages of development (beginner / intermediate) I think that platforms such as EdX and Coursera do offer opportunities for the higher level of education (though perhaps they do not offer too much in the particular narrow field that LiveEDU are catering for.....but EdX and Coursera has new courses from universities from all around the world coming online weekly).

P2. This is a sound promise and anything that improves education and access to education is potentially of real merit.

P3. The thing that I like here, and what I think is currently its major point of difference is that it is project based i.e. that through the module you are building something tangible. Though again this is obviously a direction that say Lynda for example could easily go in, in the future.

P4. I think that the volume of courses / modules that they are trying to produce for the coming year is rather large, though I do see the need for a large library if they are going to compete, however I think that a greater emphasis on how they are going to build a quality product may be more important. I checked out a few of the videos that are currently on their website (several of the categories were either very low on content or empty) The videos I watched were presented by people who may well be good at their given discipline however they certainly were not educators. As with many areas of business I feel that this is not a very good methodology ....just because someone is good at something it does not mean that they can convey their knowledge or accommodate a variety of learning styles.

P5. From what I have seen of the team.....on paper I do not think that they are particularly impressive....though looks can be deceiving.

P6. Sadly I could not see the partner details on the web site....(maybe I did not have quite enough sleep?)

P7. I agree with the level of difficulty in proving themselves in what will become an even more competitive market. I also agree that they could very well carve out a niche (if they can attract the right teachers) and I can also see a community developing within the students.

P8. I agree that the project has the potential to be profitable but I could not put any kind of time line on it.

In general I feel that at this point I would not be investing but I also agree that there is some merit here and I have placed them in my....TO MONITOR file.

I hope that my rambling make some sense, I look forward to your thoughts and the next episode. Cheers J

Just com back to edit as in my ramblings I forgot my main point. I am failing to see why this project needs to me on a blockchain.....or am I missing something. Cheers again J

Sort:  

hi jeffbowen. good insights there. will keep an eye on this also. the business model has ripple effect later on and I know that measurement of true learning is when learners applied their skills into real world scenarios and would give solutions to global issues. i'm an advocate of learning and look forward that this project will progress.

I too am a strong advocate for learning (though my wife constantly tells me, .....related to many issues.....Will You EVER learn?). I think that the major elements to watch with LiveEDU, in addition to what they are doing and how they progress with developing their material and tutor base is what the competitors are doing. I can believe that the likes of Lynda (a.k.a Linkdin) will sit back and let someone take over their market share but we will see. Which coin are you thinking of looking at next and I will try and find time to look at in so that I can go a little bit deeper that I had the opportunity to do yesterday with LiveEDU. That is if I manage to keep an internet connection as the rain is coming down quite heavily again here. I have been meaning to ask where about in the Philippines you are? I have been to Manila quite a few times (when I lived in Palau I used to stop if in Manila quite a bit) but unfortunately I have not had the opportunity to see anywhere else in your country. Anyway you take care and I look forward to the next episode. Cheers J

Hi jeff. My next target to look at is MedicalChain - a decentralized platform that enables secure, fast, and transparent exchange and usage of medical data. I would be able to look at it probably Friday or Saturday. I'm a bit tied up with work deadlines and trying to squeeze my schedule so I can spend time looking at it.

Good to hear you have a bit of experience of Philippines. I hope you had a great time here. I'm really proud of my country specially the people, culture and sceneries that we have. I'm just 30-40 minute away from Manila. If you have any chance to visit again my country, you may explore the beauty of Palawan, Siargao and Batangas.

Talk to you soon :)

Palawan is a place that I very much want to visit. In many ways it reminds me (or rather what I know of the place reminds me) of Palau (small island nation in the middle of the pacific) where I lived for 4 years. I completely agree, you come from a land of beautiful and gracious people. I will look at medicalChain (I have already had a provisional look) as soon as I get a chance....I have to say that my initial opinion is very positive, they have a good ex NHS team (NHS is the British, National Health Service) and as you know I am originally from the UK so I have a reasonable understanding of the NHS.... (Plus my wife is an advisor to the Tongan Ministry of Health...we are here in Tonga through her work as an Australian government advisor). I hope that your week is not too stressful and that you manage to get some down time. I am going to try and spend some time today following the Neo DevCon and see what I can learn. Let me know when you have had chance to look at MedicalChain and we will talk then. Until then Cheers as always J

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37