Introducing Metamask: An Ethereum Crypto Wallet.

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Introducing Metamask: An Ethereum Crypto Wallet.

MetaMask is a bridge that allows connecting to the Ethereum network in your browser. A crypto-wallet is a piece of software that stores private and public keys and interacts with a blockchain to enable users to send and receive digital currency (i.e., Ether or an ERC20 Token) and monitor its balance. This wallet allows you to run Ethereum dApps right in your browser without running a full Ethereum node.

Screenshot_1.png
Image Source: Metamask.io

MetaMask includes a secure identity vault, providing a user interface to manage your identities on different sites and sign blockchain transactions. It also lets users create and manage their own identities, so when a Dapp wants to perform a transaction and write to the blockchain, the user gets a secure interface to review the transaction, before approving or rejecting it.

Installing Metamask

It is possible to install it as a plug-in (or add-on) in Chrome, Firefox, Opera, and the new Brave browser. To install it go to metamask.io and select “get Chrome extension” (or the extension for whatever browser they support and you wish to use). Follow the directions. Make sure to create a strong password and keep your password and recovery seed somewhere safe.

Metamask1.png

Metamask Installation

A default account with an associated public Ethereum address will be created on the Main Network. You can use that account, create new accounts or import your previous accounts.

If you’re a developer, you can start developing using this tool now. The extension injects the Ethereum web3 API into every website's javascript context so that dapps can read from the blockchain. This wallet allows connecting to the main Ethereum network and other test networks such as Ropsten, Rinkeby or Kovan.

Website: https://metamask.io/

This digital wallet was last updated in August 15, 2018, this new version includes the possibility of working in a web browser's tab. The source code on Github is available in https://github.com/MetaMask/metamask-plugin.

The following image is an example of Metamask. In this example, the wallet connects to the Ropsten Test Network.


Metamask2.png

If you want to know more about Ethereum check my previous post:

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@intechractive/whatisethereum-6w9sy4kwrn


steemit.png

Follow me on Steemit @intechractive and resteem this post!


Sort:  

Metamask is a very comfortable, safe, reliable and intuitive wallet, it is the best option for the new blockchain enthusiasts, I liked that you will place the steps for its installation since it helps many people in the process of creating their wallet.

Thank you @creativeblue, I'll keep posting information related to blockchain technology. I'm following you, hope you can follow me back and resteem this post if you liked it.

Well very informative for me as I have recently joined myetherwallet & knowing about metamask through your post, I'm going to join it now.

I'm glad you found the post useful. I follow you, hope you can follow me back and resteem it. Thanks!

It is an incredible wallet for every token based on ERC20, everyone should try it. Even if airdrops are not your thing.

Excellent tool indeed! I'll keep posting information related to blockchain technology. I'm following you, hope you can follow me back and resteem this post if you liked it.

I have been using Metamask to store KIN tokens, it's working perfectly. i highly recommend it.

It runs smoothly! I'm following you as well, hope you can follow me back.

Done! Thank you! I'm following you as well, hope you can follow me back.

Hi guys! MetaMask is great but some of our players on ruletka.io are having a hard time with your new UI - I mean to set the proper gas... 3 steps is maybe too much...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61249.08
ETH 3397.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51