You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 260 STEEM + 40 Bonuses ~ Sponsored Writing Contest: FarmaTrust

in #blockchain6 years ago

I have been posting for weeks and can't catch a break. I write scholarly articles. Is my stuff really that bad?

https://steemit.com/writing/@ianmcg/is-addiction-a-disease-debate-essay

Sort:  

Hey, @ianmcg I feel your pain man. It sucks to poor hours of work into a post and not see even a cent for your effort. It's even more painful to see others post absolute crap and get tens if not hundreds of dollars for it, we can’t help but compare ourselves to them and think what are they doing that we're not?

The truth is that this is a far from perfect system, there are too many people coming here to post there content and not enough people coming here to read content. The best way I've found to see Steemit is as a platform that incentivises interaction and community building rather than the content itself. Which is fine, but it just means that the role of content is different than say that of a Medium post. The content here instead plays a role in the interaction with others.

I’m an academic psychologist (like you? I’m guessing from your profile and a few posts of yours I’ve seen) and write academic papers for work, however here I’m willing to bet that style won’t pass. So I’m trying to find a style that is accessible to everyone and gets a single interesting point across as quickly as possible. I’ve also decided to change all my posts to 100% steem power, mainly just so I don’t think of the incentive as money but instead as the ability to help shape a community. I’ve also learnt not to be too precious with my posts; write it, post it and move on to the next.

I’m sure this platform won’t be for everyone but if you do want to stay around you may find that the benefit comes in time. Good luck and here wishing you happy blogging!

Thank you for the support and the suggestions. I may switch to steem power 100% as well. I'm more interested in building on the platform than making money too. I think my real problem is I'm not using bots. I have tried to avoid it, but it seems like the only way to get anyone to read. It's really hurts morale when you haven't made more than 0.03 SDB on anything... and browse the trending and see single picture posts making 30+ SDB. I makes me think my articles suck, but I guess I'm just not well enough connected or exploring the bots.

Yeah, so i posted this before I read your addiction post, which was great. I think time is likely all you need, that and engaging in the community. And if little comes from it straight away its still worth more than posting on wordpress or medium. All you have to lose here is time! And for me that was going to go into one of many online platforms anyway so might as well be this one.

This post is starting to build up. I think engaging with the @steemstem community has helped. I think it's about how to find you audience and get them to your post more than just putting out content here. I'm not sacrificing anything by posting on here, so I don't really have anything to lose.

Excellent glad to hear it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44