Can Cosmos be bigger than Ethereum?

in #blockchain5 years ago

Today for most humans is just another day. But historically this day is important because the Genesis of Cosmos Hub happens.

0D9BB9FA6EB9D64E80CF920EB917B1124F298B12C92BE7FD5328564C6D85D087

Almost 4 years ago in a day of Ethereum Genesis, I wrote a post on its bright future. This accelerating future is happening right now.

Current post is not the comparison between Ethereum and Cosmos or Polkadot or other amazing p2p technology. Nor it is an overview of the technology. It is not speculation though. This post will be shorter thus more concise. Let me speak from my heart, and I will give you my personal story and impressions on the 5 years long (almost) silent development of the technology which I believe will be more impactful for the future of web than HTTP and HTML combined.

Story

It happens that I meet amazing humans before they impact the state of the world. The same was with Jae and Brain. I met those guys in Bucharest in February 2017.

Those time I were looking for more efficient consensus alternatives because lighting (not LN) hit my brain one month before: I realize that thanks to IPFS a better Google is finally possible. One piece was missing though: efficient consensus algo. I started a comparison of DPOS based chains as the most performant at that time and finally came to a Tendermint chat with a question on performance for a search engine. Guys in a chat answered me that it seems that 30k-40k tps is achievable under some setting. I was happy because that was clearly enough for PoC. I start to dig, and to the moment I met guys after one month I was already impressed by Tendermint developments not only because of the consensus engine. I saw that guys were thinking deeper.

It was February 22, 2017 when Kostya, me, Jae and Brain spent almost 2 hours on the discussion of the beast.

The resume was that cosmos based search engine is crazy but clean enough, and undoubtedly doable idea.

After the talk I made this selfie:

https://cloudflare-ipfs.com/ipfs/Qmen8quD7g61NDJP7evYfphDavvWFnfu1PoiHt5x7nSPFx

Looking into the past, I want to thank you guys for this talk. Because those talk gave me belief to work last two years on the cyber protocol and the power to spend on it (almost) all my money I earned on Ethereum :-)

Impressions

After two years of discovering the technology and launching a working network using it I have the following impressions:

  • cosmos-sdk can be a bootstrap 2.0: you can build a planet-scale performant, sovereign and intelligent thing in minutes.
  • tendermint is the cruelest consensus algo with cosmos hub slashing settings. It will suck all validator blood in the name of the liveness and safety of the network.
  • inter-blockchain communication is essential but still missing piece of the stack. I cannot see a bright future without this piece.
  • the architecture of consensus computers with a clear distinction of network, transaction and block protocols will rule them all.
  • cosmos community is the most thoughtful, buidling and responsible in the industry, so I am happy to be a tinny particle of it.

Conclusion

How do you think if there exists a technology that makes an almighty Google just 7 kloc app using cosmos-sdk and tendermint how far we can go with it?

Let us work together on The Great Web and see what happens in the next 5 years ;-) But I will start to think on a crazy adventure to Jupiter and Saturn moons.

Sort:  

@hipster, I've been following your work for a while in a DPoS /Graphene ecosystem. u really rock. Taking the challenge to build a new Google in the decentralize world we are entering is crazy.

Dear hipster:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Congratulations @hipster! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!


@hipster, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Red Fish!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81