Great things are coming.

in #blockchain6 years ago

So you know my story, Mexican kid just trying to find his way through life and struggling through the college life which is actually really different here in Mexico than your average "college party life". Anyways, that's not the point of this piece. So as I mentioned before, I stumbled upon Bitcoin and blockchain technology around August of this year and I was instantly hooked into it. I don't have much technical knowledge on programming, PC specs and GPU hardware, but I do consider myself a tech-geek and gamer ever since the age of 14 when I discovered computer games like Tibia, Maplestory and (shoutout to all the PSOBB fans) Phantasy Star Online. My friends and I would play endless hours of Rakion, Gunbound, Guildwars, you name it, any type of RPG, MMO or FPS I've played it, with the exception of card games, never really been a fan of turn based card games. Anyways, my whole background on computer gaming and experimenting with cheat code generators and bots have fueled my love for cryptocurrencies and upcoming projects that use blockchain technology.

So I'm currently reading this book:

Screen Shot 2017-12-15 at 10.30.20 AM.png

I'm just amazed at the potential and the limits that we will be able to overcome when society manages to completely understand and use blockchain for everyday purposes, they are innumerable! I've read projects like Power Ledger, IOTA, Golem, NEO, (boy if I had the money to put just $100 bucks into each of these projects I would) are going to revolutionize the way we interact with technology and everyday objects, IoT is really coming to introduce a whole new paradigm in the next years to come. I don't consider myself a blockchain expert whatsoever, just took a couple of Blockgeeks courses on basics of blockchain however, I'm not exactly sure how to take the next step. Maybe you guys could help me out.

127.5 million people live in Mexico, I have no sources to back my statement but if I had to guess a % of the population that new what blockchain technology is, I would have to say it is less than 1%, I am not kidding. Bitcoin is barely even starting to make the newspaper (don't even mention other cryptocurrencies) however Mexican ignorance towards this technology is strong, and I've heard more people say it is a scam and in some cases a videogame, I mean, really? How can people be this uninformed?! So here I am, trying to find someone to talk to, not even my college professors have a clue about what blockchain is.

Fast forward to a rainy September weekend, I'm at a friends house switching conversations over some beers when I see an oddly looking book on the shelf.

Screen Shot 2017-12-15 at 10.44.54 AM.png

"What the fuck, since when do you know about Bitcoin?!", I felt like an outcast who had just found another member of his "tech-freaky" community. "Well, I don't care much about Bitcoin, I already made around $5,000 from my original $1500 investment, you should read about blockchain though, this shit is like the new internet". Ever since that moment I haven't looked back. I dove headfirst into reddit, Bitcoin news, blockchain articles, books, websites, it was all too much to digest in one day, I couldn't believe the capabilities of this technology and how it can and will revolutionize a great part of how society is structured and operated.

Fast forward to November, I had now invested some of my work savings (not much) into Bitcoin and other alt-coins, and I had now acquired more knowledge on blockchain applications than 90% of the people in my hometown. The reason for this is because I live in a city very much compared to Los Angeles. Metropolitan center filled with money and numerous business hubs, fueled by a toxic society consumed by social media and people trying to be someone just to please the public. The vocation of "influencer" has actually been praised upon younger generations as a career, when in reality it is just a popularity contest and what I call a modern day beauty pageant. Enough of my ranting though, this is where my next step seems a little blurry, however Carlos (my blockchain sensei as I like to call him) have met with a relative of mine who is a very wealthy engineer, businessman and consultor who has also gotten into the crypto/blockchain game. He invests in Bitcoin, ETH and a couple other alt-coins however he does not possess advanced blockchain technology knowledge, and he told us we need to be the first people to introduce a blockchain system into this society, because if we do, we will be breaking a barrier no other person has done in this city and achieve a new level of business making.

Now, I am very aware of the fact that people in this community know twice as much, even more, on blockchain/cryptos/Bitcoin that I do, and that is precisely the reason I am writing this. As a 22 year old International Business major, I have started doing some research on how Bills of Lading and other legal documents required for freight shipping and similar components of international logistics are being transformed by the blockchain, and how reduction of time and consolidation of documents will be a major advantage of it, however, it is as far as I go. I made my research regarding what are miners, nodes, hash-rates, blocks, PoS and PoW systems, decentralization and all the components of blockchain however I feel it is time to take the next step and actually begin a project in this industry.

What do you guys think? Am I missing something?

-the mexican kid

Sort:  

You got it all on the right track here!

This is great - keep up with it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88