Video on demand 3.0 ?? LBRY First LooksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blockchain7 years ago

LBRY is a free, open, and community-run digital marketplace. As so It says on their website. I've been very curious about the UI/UX. It has been available through GitHub, but since I'm not that techy, I signed up for the early access code which I got a couple of days ago.

1_Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 20.24.22.png
I downloaded the LBRY software, installed it and got connected.

2_LBRY_Scroll.jpg

The Home page reminds me of Netflix. It has several horizontal scrolls and smooth/gentle pop-ups of the video avatars.

3_LBRY_VideoNot.jpg

Playing the video means downloading it from the users. When they are not connected, you can't watch.

4_LBRY_Loading-Vido0.jpg

If a video is available, you have to wait for a little bit before you can watch it.

4.2_LBRY_Loading-Vido0.png

You can also publish/download images.

5_LBRY_Download0.jpg

This is where your download content is shown. Offline look in your download folder.

6_LBRY_Wallet.jpg

You get 10 LBRY Credits or LBC upon registering.

7_LBRY_Send.jpg

Send transfers.

8_LBRY_Receive0.jpg

Receive transfers.

9_LBRY_Rewards0.jpg

Claim more rewards!

10_LBRY_Settings.jpg

Settings

12LBRY_Publish0.jpg

Publish your content and create an identity and address.

13LBRY_Publish0.png

First upload :) and ten more LBC!

So right now it's a p2p setup run through a standalone. Not sure about the technicalities bit I'd like to be able to share the videos. Embed them even. I'll read up a bit more, but I get the feeling that's going to take a bit longer. Then again perhaps I'm still too much stuck in the Youtube way of thinking about video distribution. It's more a Vimeo on Demand setup, now that I think of it. I recently started buying films on Vimeo. They have a lot of quality independent films and documentaries, and the prices are very doable for a hi-res download. Transporting the above mentioned Vimeo on demand construction to the blockchain could help create a more thriving independent film scene.

I like the straight forward ness, and I'm going to upload a few video's just to see if there's some response. I guess it's within the LBRY Slack were more of the social action is going on.


Is there anyone else who's currently on LBRY? Curious about your thoughts on video on demand or visions in regards to video distribution on the blockchain.


FF_Steemit_banner_03.jpg

Sort:  

jah i tested it out about a year or so ago... even mined some LBRY credits... I feel it has not updated that much... curious if it will get some updates... But I like their approach for sure.

Jup, I remember you mentioned it to me back then! Have had my eyes on it ever since. For LBRY to get bigger updates are a must! Right now there is ZIP NON & nada proper content :(

I requested access to LBRY but I'm still on the waitlist. I'm excited about this project, I believe it has great potential. In fact, I've invested in LBC coins. Here is my take on it https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@brevis/lbry-blockchain-powered-lolcats

Yes I saw that! Nice comparison! btw once you do get you code invite others, I think you gain LBC for that ;)

Yes, I'm already inviting others :-)

check out
lbry://@movie#7381dcaa482bdc199934779c7aa39922f0342582
for great content

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54