Wealth Has A Way Of Finding Only A Few Pockets

in #blockchain6 years ago

This was one of the lines that caught my eye in an article about Bitcoin & Blockchain.

"Wealth Has A Way Of Finding Only A Few Pockets"

I enjoyed reading it as it did catch that Fair Ground Flavor of the Cryptocurrency Month.

The highs the lows. The absurd measuring Graph Candle Sticks that seems to be in every Cryptocurrency Video on Steemit.

Sometimes I just cannot take it all seriously.

I'd do better throwing goats bones on the ground or reading the intestines of Sheep.

Bgoat.jpg

I've always looked upon the whole endeavor, as akin to "Schrödinger's Cryptocurrency Cat," stuck in that
forever, up up up down down down up up up, Candle Stick Alice in CryptoWonderland- until the day when you cash out and your,"Schrödinger's Cryptocurrency Cat Quantum Wave," finally collapses. Along with your Bank Balance.

Read On: Bitcoin Is Ridiculous. Blockchain Is Dangerous By Paul Ford

On the days when Bitcoin crashes, a holiday atmosphere takes over in my corners of the internet. People tweet screengrabs of Reddit fights. It’s always good fun to watch strangers grieve as their digital nonsense nickels melt into slag.

It’s not that I want Bitcoin holders to suffer, really. As a technologist and entrepreneur, I’m sympathetic to and admiring of risk takers. But as a writer, I enjoy the sheer human-condition-revealing sport. I’m happy to watch other people play video games without playing myself. I’ll watch poker, but I’ve never bought a deck of cards—and when I watch football, I keep the official NFL rulebook open on my phone. For whatever reason, I tend to like the rules more than the game. Bitcoin is at some level just a set of rules, defined by software, that has become one of the world’s weirdest games. And people who invest in an unmanageable abstraction, then panic when it underperforms, are very entertaining.

Everyone’s so excited and having such a good time, the sort of time you have right before they invade Paris. Watching the world of initial coin offerings over the past few years has been like watching popcorn pop. Everything rattled around in the hot air for what seemed like forever and then pop! Mastercoin! Ethereum! Bancor! Tezos! Then other kernels started popping, and now we’re eating popcorn for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Blockchain startups visit our software agency and promise to pay in dollars, then add, “There are, however, other ways to get paid.” Everyone is smart and well-funded. And, yes, some blockchain startups (but never, ever the ones that visit us) seem comical—so many graphs! Some are even deliberately so, like Useless Ethereum Token, whose logo is a raised middle finger. “There will be no expectation of gains,” says the UET website. Naturally, buyers have taken on about $300,000 worth.

The people tossed around by the cryptocurrency tempest—their only sin is belief. (Well, and greed.) But here I can only smile warmly and sigh. I know what it’s like to believe.

Read The Whole Article:
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/2018-03-09/bitcoin-is-ridiculous-blockchain-is-dangerous-paul-ford

Images Courtesy Pixabay

And a Happy St Paddy's Day to Everybody

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079DJBX7Q

Sort:  

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📉 7d
BNTBancor3.783$-7.31%-22.99%
BTCBitcoin8708.750$-6.65%-23.02%
ETHEthereum680.922$-7.26%-19.96%
QAUQuantum0.159$-5.47%-22.06%

Thanks for giving it a read.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59