Letting the hype die / red markets but more useful / the inclusivity paradox in crypto

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Yoyoyo everyone. Its been a minute since I just posted some thoughts, often times I wonder if they are my own or if I am just stealing them from things I've seen or read. Surely some combination of both. Regardless of what the market says, things are good!

U5dthRpcSNS6P3cjZbf4W93H9LQW427_1680x8400.png

I was looking at the coin market cap earlier and I noticed that many a project that at one point or another were buzz projects have found themselves nearing floors well below the highs the were once at. It's easy to get swept up in the hype for new projects, as a long term investors when I do this, I buy before the high. But since I hold, I end up with coins that are priced right around where I bought them. Granted, if the project is good and succeeds.. the usefullness will propel the coin far above where the hype once got it.

The coins that have really good projects being built, that are mostly void of hype currently are priced very well to get in, before the useful gives them real value. Sure we are not at all time highs as far as the total market cap. We are at all time highs of use, user adoption, and corporate interest. Up until recently most of the value of alt coins have come from speculation. Soon the use will drive the price more than the forks, more than the announcements, and more than the hype. This will be the time the good projects with working products, and useful coins will get the credit they deserve.

So cryptocurrency and blockchain as a whole is supposed to be all inclusive. No matter where you are, you can buy Bitcoin. You can take part in corporations and organizations in a decentralized manner with people from all over the globe. We see slogans like unbank the banked, and bank the unbanked. Then once you get into the community of cryptocurrency things are not so inclusive. It's more like sports. If your team loses, you riot in the streets of twitter and Reddit. You claim scam, say it has no use, call everyone idiots. Without a doubt, many cryptocurrencies will not survive. Let them die, no need to point it out and be spiteful. The comradere that Vitalik and Dan Larimer have recently showed should be taken note of. The best coin should win based on merit. Not who's troll army is the the loudest.. and if your going to be a troll, be funny, be nice, be like @piedpipercoin!

Woot woot,

@drpuffnstuff

Sort:  

Bought EOS when the hype and price was high, now it's gradually declining and my blood pressure is gradually increasing😂

This comment could help alleviate the pressure :)

Thanks @juvyjabian, thinking of buying more EOS though.

As long as you don't sell. EOS will find it's way back up. Eventually at least, but sooner than later probably.

Very Good Post!
I've heard it said that slow growth is good growth, I think we are heading for some growth slower than last year, but still impressive from an investment perspective.
I agree that all coins will not survive, and even if I hold some, that's a good thing. Any coin that does survive, even with a questionable use, will still gain in value above traditional investments.
Steem and EOS are my main investments and I have high hopes for both. The others I hold are purely speculative, with not enough invested to hurt, but with a possibility of exponential growth.
Thanks for the perspective you reinforced with this post.

I hope the market grows faster than Facebook coin and google coin do, it’d be a shame if those are the coins that 10x the market size.

If that's the case. Then decentralized systems lost to centralized systems, and to me that's a set back and a blow to humanity. So I too hope that the decentralized future wins out over the same old bullshit!

It always seems to be 3 steps forward 2 steps back. It’s really hard to imagine how it will play out, but at least the crap always has a purpose, we will experience what we are ready to experience, which will certainly be better than what we have experienced, regardless of whatever crap remains.

The cream will always rise to the top Puffy, the strongest will be left standing. Time will tell dude, but now is the era of the Crypto! :-D

This is true flatrider. We are approaching the blockchain era for sure

the usefulness of a coin is why I focus on steem. Maybe too much lol. I also want eos. I don't have any currently and should have converted my sbd to buy some today but I bought more steem. I'm still learning how to trade. I also think that corporate interest will change everything soon. Learning to be in position to take advantage of it is my goal.

2018 will be the year of launches and execution as capital looks to get into assets and projects that actually deliver on their roadmaps. Those that don’t deliver, will underperform the market.

Congratulations @drpuffnstuff! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91