You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can Blockchains Replace Governments?

in #blockchain8 years ago

Governments are santioned by 'we the people' with the use of deadly force to enforce rules that 'we the people' agreed on. I don't see how the blockchain can pick up a gun and coerce them into action. That part of the government is needed. If the democratic government doesn't do it, then you have anarchy (anyone with a gun) then dictatorship (one guy with a gun).

In a land where anyone with a gun wins, I would lose, as I am not a big tough guy. I like civilization.

Having said all that I think blockchains can remove much of what government does for us. Especially the record keeping part.

Sort:  

I agree with you in some aspect. But blockchain would be more useful than record keeping. I'll say it in later post.

I don't understand this argument. You don't like people having guns so you want people with guns to be in charge?

I'd rather it be organized and under control of an elected government rather than 'every man for himself'.

I don't think the author is suggesting that democratically elected humans would be replaced, just that the administrative component of government could be blockchained to improve efficiency and transparency.

Governments would always need the ability to change direction in response to real world circumstances and that's a human task :D

Critically, a blockchain sized improvement to transparency would greatly improve trust in government...at a time when it's so badly needed !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43