Narrative's First Rewards Payout: Bigger Than Steemit

in #blockchain5 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, I received an email from Narrative. I opened it and found this:

Narrative payout.JPG

My heart jumped. Then I started calculating what that 44,000 NRVE+ might be in USD. When I tried to access the site and look at my wallet, the site was down for maintenance. It wasn't down for long. Within the hour, the site was live again and I was able to see what Narrative had done. I am SUPER-PLEASED.

My Personal Rewards

It's important to note that the first payout represents two months of Narrative activity. The platform went live on April 2, 2019, and the first payout goes through May 31, 2019. Narrative so far has paid out 57,183 in total rewards points and 2,508,982 total NRVE for that last pay period.

Narrative Rewards.JPG
From the Narrative reporting page.

My own rewards represent 1.79% of what was paid out, a total of 45,210.5912421 NRVE. The estimated USD equivalent as of this writing is $513.28, up from $377.18 two days ago.

While I hoped the first Narrative payout would be encouraging, I did not expect it to be that encouraging. This represents a $256.64 average monthly income from these two months of activity. In contrast, my Steemit account, after 15 months of regular and prodigious activity, has an estimated account value of $418.85.

estimated account value 6 15 2019.JPG

I have not powered down one time since joining the Steem blockchain. My Steem Power now sits at 849.371 with 65.745 delegated out. I have 7.809 liquid STEEM and $63.976 liquid SBD. So when you figure that with the $300-$400 investment I've made in Steem Monsters cards, I've earned almost 1,500 STEEM in 15 months. Considering today's STEEM price, according to CoinMarketCap, that means I've earned about $611.202 from my countless hours of activity on Steemit. Even when you factor in the devaluation of STEEM that has taken place since March 2018 when I made my first post, hour for hour, I've done much better on Narrative. Much, much better.

On April 28, 2018, less than a month after my first post, STEEM was at $4.43 USD. Perhaps if STEEM was still trading at that price, I'd be happy with 3.762 and some change in Steem Power. But, of course, if wishes were horses ....

Needless to say, my nervousness over Narrative's early performance has turned into a posture of gratitude. I'm stoked.

NRVE's current price is roughly $0.012090. Tomorrow, it could be down below a penny again. But I'll still be satisfied by this early out-of-the-gate sprint.

NRVE june 15 2019.jpeg
From CoinMarketCap.

The lion's share of my Narrative rewards came from content creation. While I like seeing the breakdown of rewards by niche ownership, content creation, etc., I'd also like to see a little more granularity in the content creation category. How much of that is due to personal journal posts versus comments? That would make a great addition to the breakdown, in my opinion. Another great addition would be some breakdown on my rewards per niche post to, with information on the niches I post most often to. I'd also like to know if I made the leader board for any of those niches. Here's a current picture of my wallet:

Narrative rewards.JPG

As you can see, my niche ownership rewards for the first two months were about $29.985 per month. That puts me on a good pace to actually profit from owning the niche within the first year, unheard of in business ownership. While owning a Narrative niche isn't exactly like owning a business, it is close enough to owning equity in a franchise that I'm well pleased at the earnings pace so far. The chatter on Narrative is that I'm one of the most favored niche owners because I am active on the platform and a supporter of the content within my own niche (I read every post, upvote the good ones, and comment when I can).

I can't help but wonder how others who own multiple niches (some Narrators have maxed out their niche ownership at 10) have fared. My niche, the Speculative Fiction niche, is a top 10 niche, so this makes me wonder what other top 10 niches (say those at the top of the list, like Independent Music (holds the No. 1 slot) did for their owners.

<centerSpculative Fiction Top 10.JPG

Clicking on the Transactions tab gives a full run down of all my Narrative activity. While this is useful data, I'd like to see it broken down by posts and comments, etc. I'd also like to see highest earning post and other details on specific posts, maybe top 10 highest-earning posts for the month and for all time. But with the information that I have, I can see that a poem I posted early on in April garnered a measly 7+ NRVE, so not much of a payout there, while my highest earning post, posted on May 6, earned me over $36 USD. That's not too shabby. It could go on to do a lot more.

I'm anxious to redeem my rewards, an action that won't be available until July, so I can invest in more niches.

Niche Owner Rewards

I'm also pleased with how the niche owner rewards are reported. Particularly enlightening is the small print line that tells me only 151 posts qualify for rewards, because low quality posts are excluded. Out of 189 total posts in the niche, that means 79.89% of the posts in my niche are high quality enough to earn their authors, and me, rewards. That's pretty significant. And what it tells me is that downvoting low quality posts is not only important, it's intrinsically valuable to rewarding authors of high quality posts.

If you're interested in moderating the Speculative Fiction niche, you should pay close attention to the moderator rewards.

Narrative niche moderator rewards.JPG

I intend to have only two moderators to start, until the niche grows to such a size that more are required. This is a conscious decision because I want to maximize the rewards for each moderator. I believe that one isn't enough, but I don't want more because I want moderators to be motivated to moderate the niche well. And so far, moderating this niche has been fairly easy. I suspect it will become more challenging as Narrative grows.

Two more parts of the niche ownership rewards panel that make me sing are the "Top Earning Posts" and "Top Earning Creators" reports. Both of these are invaluable to niche owners, and already, I'm thinking up ways to reward those contributors to my niche who add more value to it with their content. Coming soon: Contests and other rewards-inducing activities.

Congratulations to Andrew Reising, aka @wildspeculation, for being the top earning creator in the Speculative Fiction niche for the April/May 2019 time period. He certainly deserves it. His reviews of spec-fic books and movies are awesome.

Congratulations are in order, as well, to @t2tang for the top-earning post in the niche from the past two months. @wildspeculation also authored three of the top five in that category. Congrats to both creators.

Niche owner rewards panel.JPG

At the top of the niche owner rewards panel is a link to the Leadership board. On that board will be the all-time top earning posts and top-earning creators lists. As Narrative grows, I'm looking forward to seeing how these two lists change over time.

Narrative Site-wide Rewards

Finally, in the reporting section of the platform's HQ area, you'll find site-wide statistics on rewards payouts. Total rewards payouts for the first payout period were $21,050.47 USD, or 2,508,982 NRVE. That's pretty substantial. As small as Narrative is--and we can hope it's the smallest it will ever be--for it to have paid out more than $10,000 in rewards for the first month of public beta is an outstanding achievement. Less than $2,000 of that went to Narrative Company, and only $3,157.57 went to Narrative Company for the entire payout period. The rest went to Narrators--creators, owners, and moderators. This could be why you see so many of Narrative staff posting to the platform themselves. It means they're eating their own dog food, and there's a lot to be said for that.

Narrative Rewards total payout.JPG

As much as Narrative staff has been beat up these past couple of months, for one mishap or another (and I've done my fair share of beating), I'd say they hit a big success on the rewards payout. I'm pumped. I'm ready for the next round. I'm anxious to get moving toward moderator and Tribunal elections, and beyond. I'm ready to promote my niche. And I'm ready for more content creation. That's not to say there couldn't be improvements to what we've seen so far, but I give Narrative staff a big thumbs up on this one.

Final Word and a Suggestion for Improvement

I am not a developer. I can't imagine the challenges that come with developing a platform like Narrative. It can't be easy. So I do appreciate that Narrative staff can take the criticisms that have been hurled at them (and many of them are valid) and keep punching away at producing what they've promised. There have been some missteps along the way, but I hope that they will be seen as minor in a year, two years, or five years from now, should Narrative survive that long, when some of us can boast of making a full-time living from our Narrative efforts (I can dream, can't I?).

That's said, like any new social platform, there will be those who show up to try to game the system and test it against itself. They spam the platform with low-quality posts, steal other people's content, and troll users who make it difficult for them to play their games. Narrative is no exception.

Because the entire ecosystem of Narrative rewards is dependent on a high degree of individual integrity across the platform, it behooves each Narrator involved to remain on guard against low quality, intellectual property theft, and other unethical behavior. So far, I don't see Narrative staff taking these issues as seriously as they took a trolling issue in beta's first week. They acted on that quickly, but I see plagiarism and content theft as a much bigger issue. Not only is it unethical, but those who get away with it stand to profit from their lack of integrity. This is something that should not be acceptable. If Narrative is to grow and offer real rewards to high-quality content creators, moderators, and niche owners, then the company has to find a way to discourage content theft in all its forms. That includes removing rewards from those who are caught.

Therefore, I hope the next improvement to the rewards payout system is some reporting on how AUP and TOS violations, especially content theft and other unethical behavior, impact rewards payouts. I don't know how that will look, specifically, but I think it should be included.

With that, I want to encourage all my Steemit friends who tried Narrative but didn't stick around to give it another go. The user interface of Narrative is world's above that of Steemit. So far, the rewards have been better for new users. On Steemit, you have to churn away for hours and days and weeks to get a few pennies. That doesn't seem to be the case on Narrative where 85 percent of the rewards go to content creators, niche owners, moderators, and others who are not a part of company staff. Since this is the beginning of the future, anyone who stakes an early claim will have the best seat in the theater. And it's still early enough in the production that good box seats are going at a very low price. Join us.

Allen Taylor is a freelance writer, editor, and authority content producer at Taylored Content.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Very interesting , @blockurator ((:

This came at a good time. While I never intend to leave Steemit, I kind of felt that it has hit a plateau. Putting rewards aside, I don't know if I'm wrong, but readership has also taken a hit. I feel like Steemit is evolving more into a platform where the DApps are taking centre stage. My short Actfit/Appics posts are earning and being responded to more than longform content.

And now with the 50/50 creation curation model proposed, there is even less rewards for longform content creators.

Thus, your case is quite persuasive (to a currently inactive Narrative user). (:

You're absolutely right about Steemit. It is transitioning into a Dapp marketplace. And Dapps are being encouraged. This will soon become a have for Dapp developers who want to practice their skills and earn money based on that.

There's nothing wrong with that, but it will squeeze out serious content creators. We should realize that. What

Narrative has done is nearly the exact opposite. There is no Dapp development at all, but if you're a serious content creator, they've got you covered.

Yep definitely going to try Narrative now. I'm confused though, what is $NRVE built on, Steem? Its own chain?

It's built on NEO. You can learn more about where to buy NRVE here. You don't need it to join. You'll need it to buy a niche, if you decide to do so. You can pay in USD, but there's a 15% surcharge. Otherwise, I'd recommend joining first and playing around on the platform for a month or two so you can learn the lay of the land. It's not like other social blogging platforms at all. You'll need to learn its unique way of organizing content. Once you do, I'm banking on the rewards being respectable.

Huh, this is interesting... I am curious to see how it develops, especially when the scammers get wind of the place and start bringing in bad blood... maybe I should dig out my Narrative account to have a bit of a scout around!

Is there an easy way to cross post? I see it doesn't take Markdown very well...

No, it doesn't support markdown. It's more WYSIWYG. You can cross post, and they even provide a place for you to link back to the original. It's called canonical URL.

Lots of great info here, @blockurator. I've been meaning to check it out on the recommendation of @blueeyes8960. I just wish I could find a way to add one more thing and do them all well!

If you just want to try it out, test the waters, you can cross-post from Steemit to Narrative without penalty. Narrative even offers a canonical URL link so you can link back to the original Steemit post without confusing the search engines. It takes less time to copy/paste than to write original content. Then you can see if it's for you.

That’s great to know. I will probably check it out when the current flurry of life activity slows down! 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm waiting with open arms in Flash Fiction - up to 1000 words! I also got a pretty nice payout for the 1st rewards. I'm not leaving Steem, but I'm keeping my foot in the door on Narrative as well.

I did get an email from narrative telling me I got something from a post I did before the beta launched but it was only 167 reward points which I didn't know what it meant and have got more from steem in that time by the sounds of it.

It's having the time, energy and want to upheave and go to another platform that I don't have the interest in doing. Whaleshares, Trybe, narrative... All these sites claim the same thing and that they are different from steem but there's still gaming, upvote rings etc. Just with a different token name! And the userbase just isn't there imo but I've been travelling and mostly out of the loop so please prove me wrong.

Nonetheless, I'm glad it's working for you and congratulations on your earnings there. I'll probably be sticking with steem and powerhousecreatives as it's more developed with ease of use via apps and all the other ways you can tap in to it with your website (steempress), music uploads (dsound), exercise (Actifit) and videos (dtube).

Posted using Partiko Android

Steem certainly is more developed. I respect your position @nickyhavey.

I've recently started using #PALNet. Have you heard of that? There's a claim drop for the token, and then you earn tokens just for posting using their tag. But Narrative staff, while the platform is still undeveloped and working out kinks, does seem to be more responsive to user suggestions and feedback than Steem. And @quillfire is hot on Voice, an EOS application, which could be a game-changing social platform with institutional backing. I think the game is on and Steemit will have to step up its game or lose to the up-and-coming players.

One more thing on Narrative: If you do decide to try it again, you can cross-post from Steemit. Your posts can still earn respectable rewards even if not original to Narrative. They even provide a canonical URL link so you can link back to the original post without any search engine consequences.

I need to find the time to look in to PALnet as I'm in the PAL discord and had a few notifications about it. It seems to have replaced their upvote service so another thing to try and get my head around in and amongst travelling lol!

I take your point about responsive staff, it's true though. There have been plenty of suggestions from users here on steem but does seem to be slow to respond. I just put it down to "it's complicated tech" but can't help but feel there's a bit more at play.

Yes I haven't heard from Quillington for a while. Last outburst was about MEOS/voice launch which turned out to be just an announcement that they were going to launch a social media platform on EOS. Like noone saw that coming! I put my name in for the beta to see what's going on but not heard anything. Just all seems like "could be something big" is all that's needed to build hype and hopes via word of mouth.

The whole cross posting thing is another philosophy I can't get my head around. Sure, you want to get your content spread far and wide but cross posting the same content from your website to steem then to whaleshares then to Trybe, narrative, voice... Is that what these new competitor platforms want to have happen - "post your steem articles here as well"? It just seems like they are trying hard to separate themselves but still need to be tied in to steem. Baffling.

I may check narrative out when I get back from travelling and see if the interface has changed and made more efficient, but the feeling of being spread too thin got overwhelming which is why I just picked one that I've used the longest/first and that's steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

I take your point about responsive staff, it's true though. There have been plenty of suggestions from users here on steem but does seem to be slow to respond. I just put it down to "it's complicated tech" but can't help but feel there's a bit more at play.

There's definitely more at play.

I put my name in for the beta to see what's going on but not heard anything. Just all seems like "could be something big" is all that's needed to build hype and hopes via word of mouth.

https://voice.com/

The whole cross posting thing is another philosophy I can't get my head around. Sure, you want to get your content spread far and wide but cross posting the same content from your website to steem then to whaleshares then to Trybe, narrative, voice... Is that what these new competitor platforms want to have happen - "post your steem articles here as well"? It just seems like they are trying hard to separate themselves but still need to be tied in to steem. Baffling.

I think cross-posting is more user-led than platform-led. Most would rather see original content, but if you are too busy for original content, an easy way to start is with content you've already created. You're a musician. If you want to promote your music to new audiences, are you going to write original music for every platform? What music artist does that? They write enough new songs to record new albums then promote that album by putting on shows, concerts, etc., moving from town to town performing the same act over and over again for different audiences. Same concept. Would you want to do that all the time? Probably not, but it's a good way to get old material in front of a new audience, then you can hit them with "exclusives" and original content.

For testing the platform, I recommend using the least painful approach possible. If it's cross-posting, fine. If not, try something else. You're just looking to see if your audience is there. And, by the way, Independent Music is the No. 1 niche on Narrative.

Spculative Fiction Top 10.JPG

For me, it's just so time consuming to write posts for Steemit then promote them on Discord. On Narrative, and other platforms, the social is baked into the platform. It takes less time to be interactive. This is one of the downsides to Steemit for me.

it's a good way to get old material in front of a new audience, then you can hit them with "exclusives" and original content.

That's what I do with dsound and that's been good enough for me and have actually had more responses there than any other platform.

I've filled that form out for Voice for beta access already but not heard back other than they received my request.

Regarding new audiences and posts etc, I get what you're saying. But are there really enough people who are using these new platforms that are going to make a difference to listener "hits" vs being able to get on to a big playlist on Spotify for example? Just seems like more fragmentation of an otherwise small userbase.

When I am back in civilisation and with my laptop and going full force again on blogging, I'll see how Narrative has changed and if it's worth to post more on there.

Posted using Partiko Android

At this early stage, there may not be enough of a user base for you. I guess that's something you have to figure out for yourself. I understand if it is the case.

For me, all it seems to be at the moment are just the same people on different platforms as I see a lot of the same faces around and it makes me wonder why not just stick with one? That's where I got to and am at now.

I'm sure there will be many twists and turns yet but I have found steem and dsound to be better for me out of what I have tried and like you say, with palnet, it looks like exciting times ahead.

Sorry for the passionate rant here, I am genuinely happy you're finding success on Narrative, I hope it continues and you profit from your efforts there. I guess it does come down to priorities and what's more important.

For me, music has always been a hobby and I like having it that way. Working a job and having the creative time to make music and upload it is a lifestyle I'm not against but I know others are trying to carve a life for themselves with it so maybe they'd be more inclined to join narrative if they want these instant payout amounts. Nonetheless, I shared your blog as it's great information (as always from you).

Take it easy PHC brother 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, there is a lot of cross over, but I also see many Steemians abandoning ship and jumping over to Narrative. I had one tell me the other day they were cashing out their STEEM and putting it into Narrative. I don't know if that's wise, but that was his approach, and he'd built up quite a following on Steemit and has a lot of STEEM.

I think there will be a shake down at some point and the best platforms will rise to the top. Until then, it's hunker down time for content creators.

Peace, Abundance, Love ....

@nickyhavey,

Hey Nicky.

In the two weeks since the "Voice" (MEOS) launch, a lot more details have been seeping out. It sounds like they ARE going to make the Voice Token tradeable. Why the confusion? They seem to be in a "quasi-quiet period" ... I think that their law firm, Holland & Knight (Top Notch, used to be mine when I managed hedge funds) is working with the SEC to approve an "internal exchange model" for the token.

I will write a new post when I get a bit more clarity.

Quill

@quillfire

And that's the issue. Improper launch, confusion, delays... Shouldn't this stuff have been clarified already or is it just a case of, "We gotta do something, quick push out any old shit, give them something, anything"?

Is this really going to get the masses on board?

Posted using Partiko Android

This is super interesting @blockurator

Lol, and I guess you can guess where I'm going with this next... I got the email from narrative saying rewards were active, so I must have signed up for beta and been too busy to get my sht together and create an account.

That was foolish of me.

I'm gonna look at my email trail over the next few days and work out how to get on board the narrative boat! I'll have a few offerings in the speculative fiction category for sure 😉

Nice to see you've done so well mate. You deserve it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool! Would love to see you over there contributing to the niche. You could become one of the top earnings, for sure. You're prodigious and creative, just what Narrative needs more of. :-)

I'll get on to it for sure. I think I commented on one of your posts a while ago that I'm currently using OCDB (non-profit) bot to boost my posts... but that's just out of sheer frustration. It would be nice to earn based on quality rather than hustle.

I get that a certain amount of hustle is needed in any blogging environment... but things have become skewed too far one way here on steem.

Ha ha, anyway rant over. I'll get it together on narrative tomorrow and publish my first post 🙂

Hi m8. Just wanted to ask you a question. Do you think it is essential to pay the ($15) fee to get accredited to have a chance at earning reasonable rewards on narrative?

In the first instance I'm looking to repost my best fiction (mainly fantasy and horror at first) and travel blogs. I'm just wondering if it's essential to get accredited for your work to be seen? I'm thinking it might be better to go through the accreditation process before posting long form content of high quality. Thoughts?

P.s. I found my narrative account sign in info last night and went in and did a little updating of my profile etc.

I'm called @scubascribe on narrative.

Cool, I'll look you up.

No, it's not essential. I did it and I'm glad I did. But others have opted not to do it. Some waited until their first payout.

I will say that you'll only go so far without doing it. If you want to join the Tribunal later, you'll have to do it. But for content posting, if you just want to take it for a test drive, it's not required.

Thanks for getting back to me and following up on my endless string of questions.... speaking of which ;-) This is the very last one I promise.

Do you know of an article that fully explains how the reward system and niche system works?

I've been on narrative today - and am just about to publish my first post... a horror story from one of your previous spec-fiction prompts - I've worked out that you follow people just like on steem and I've voted my first post. But how does stake work? Will my vote be worth anything yet?

These types of questions are all swimming around my head but when I tried google searches I couldn't find any compreshensive posts about how it all works on narrative. The main site doesn't seem to answer any of these questions either. I just don't want to plow away throwing content up without understanding everything.

Cheers for all your help btws :)

No problem. I wish they'd make these things easier to find. Here's the spec, it should answer all your questions. If not, feel free to ask more.

https://spec.narrative.org/docs

There's also a community support site where you can ask questions, offer suggestions, and notify staff of issues. You have to sign up for a separate account because it's not a part of the main site.

Finally, one of the users put together this nifty guide. It's a pretty handy collection of posts by other Narrators on how to make the best use of the site, and tips for doing certain things. The best part is these are all by other users so you're learning from the grass roots.

Great to hear your success with Narrative Allan, enjoyed reading your review and better earnings which makes sense.

Joined #PALNet having been a firm supporter since originally joining Steemit, found PAL community supportive always nudging Steemit to change direction to no avail, now branched off.

Time is always something to factor in with new platforms, ease of move, with #powerhousecreatives being in Steemit it is another reason to remain within this great community.

PAL has been very supportive. I liked their auto-upvote, which has now been retired and replaced by their own token. People keep saying Steemit is dying, but I don't see it. I think it's transitioning, and PALnet is one of those communities pushing it to expand beyond its current state. There are some interesting things happening on the blockchain these days. As a writer, however, I want to stick to what I do best and Narrative seems to have that in mind more so than Steemit. Like you, I'm not planning on leaving Steem any time soon.

Actually opening out into variety of branches on Steem system stabilizes it more in an unusual way, if one collapses their are others available now. Unlike what happened to Tsu where all your eggs were in one place.

Here's a shot of my first reward as well. But I'm NOT leaving Steem or my great friends and communities here!

I don't plan on leaving Steemit either. I think there's still life in this body bag. :-)

I need to try this out as it would help a lot. Does it also take some time to get registered? I'll have a look over the weekend as I am very interested.

To be honest, I don't remember the registration process too well. I don't think it's lengthy. It's free. So I think relatively painless.

Thanks for this analysis. Looks like an avenue I could explore in the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're more than welcome. I'd try it out sooner rather than later, because when the masses you show up, you'll want to have already established your voice and platform. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16