You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blockchain Literacy 101 & The Battle Of The Blockchains: Steemit vs. Ethereum, Lisk, etc…?

in #blockchain8 years ago

While hopefully you can forgive my lack of technical knowledge of the various platforms, as someone new to the cryptocurrency system, but fascinated in the workings of recent developments I would also like to weigh in a small bit (and hopefully be corrected if wrong)

I have been interested in app development for the blockchain and also wondered how I may go about learning/finding a like minded team that could point me in the right direction as I see blockchain technology becoming an integral part of our daily lives.

Many still do not even realize that bitcoin is founded on blockchain technology because of the crypto-world's attempt to shift away from the negative connotations people still have with bitcoin and the "Silk Road."

I'm very interested in decentralized apps and would love to work on a pandora-like application for steemit. A place where artists could be paid directly without the need for apple or record companies to take a cut.

Without having centralization for new artists music, they could offer songs, albums, tickets, and more and choose only to pay an extremely small $.01 fee to use the pandora like service (I don't know the metrics behind pandora, but would be happy to learn) over time that $.01 to the developers could be further decreased since the sheer volume would increase and net them the same amount.

I envision being able to give musicians feedback directly and upvote content I like and hear similar artists or listen to only new content. A pandora tailored for steemit, that would allow the ability for bands or solo artists to upgrade instruments or quit jobs to focus on their passions instead of having chunks cut out from centralized organizations.

I'd like to make that a reality, but I like @rok-sivante am not skilled enough to know where to begin.

I have much more to say on this, but I do not wish to take up to much of the comment space, but you may message me on steemit chat (@bendjmiller222) and converse further.

I know there are new interesting platforms that allow users to create content and sell directly to consumers like LBRY

And also a growing interest in a Magic The Gathering type blockchain game that is called Spells of Genesis that uses in game currency funded by bitcoin to receive rare cards which can be sold to others.

(If any podcasts wish to cover either of these, please respond and I will check them out as I love to listen to new crypto talk)

Thanks for an avenue to share @rok-sivante. I hope to learn as much as you do from this post.

Sort:  

For music blockchains, check out Ujo & Muse / PeerTracks. From what I've gathered so far, these are the two making progress. (And Muse/PeerTracks is Bitshares-based).

That is great news! I think someone may be able to take their application (if open source) and tweak it to support the features steemit would to add comments and link upvotes to steemit if it were a separate website and not integrated directly into this blockchain (still learning how API's work, so thank you for those layman's terms youtube videos).

I could see features like allowing a dislike that doesn't take money away, but lets a musician know that someone did not agree with their style and allow that user to say why they disliked.

Also a separate flag button for content that shows no effort or may be in the wrong category etc.

I'd love to see who becomes the first successful artist to use the muse/PeerTracks system/steemit application.

A dedicated ios/android app could be made and also require users to sign up for steemit before they can listen to the music. That would allow people who had no interest in posting to still help artists receive credit and feedback from more people and gain exposure.

I definitely need to research far more before I can say anything for certain about how this may work, but I am very excited to say the least. Something I am willing to dive into and ask some musicians here what features they would want to add that are not currently implemented.

Another idea could be a random youtube video viewing service that would allow users to see youtube content that is posted on steemit, but hopefully steemit will soon have its own dedicated video hosting service. This could also be categorized by topic so users could see all the introduceyourself tips without searching out individual videos.

dude, I love the way your brain is working with this.

a bit confused by the first paragraph, though - your language needs further articulation, as there's a distinction in there that's not perfectly clear.

thanks for sharing. there's some golden seeds in that comment for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65128.13
ETH 3549.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48