First thoughts regarding the blockchain technology

in #blockchain7 years ago (edited)

Since I have been researching the blockchain technology for my thesis (see my previous post) and specifically the influence it can have on the accounting business, I would say that I know quite a few things about it. I am planning on starting a weekl blog about the blockchain technology and the influence on accounting.

This is my first post of this blog, and I would like to ask you to tell me what you would like to know or correct me if I'm wrong (and ofcourse explain why). I do not claim to be an expert, yet would like to share some of my knowledge!

Although the connection between the blockchain technology and STEEMIT is still somewhat vague to me, I do see the beauty in it and I will surely dive in to get to know more.

There are a lot of ways to get to know more about the blockchain technology and familiarise yourself with the vast possibilities it brings along. What I have found is that most of the articles share the same foundation.

They start by telling something about the history of the blockchain technology (Yes, it all started with Bitcoin). Then they briefly adress the core values of the technology. Did you know that the blockchain technology is a distributed ledger on which information is immutable and validated by the (peer-to-peer) network? And finally they all deem it necessary to warn every reader about the hype-cycle. It seems we need to be aware of the fact that the current implementations of the technology, might not last till the end, because we are not yet aware of the real capabilities of the technology.

Don't get me wrong, I think this is a good way to bring the technology to the people and they should indeed know about these factors regarding the blockchain technology. Yet I feel like most people will not start to accept the technology, until it's already there. The time has come, and in some way I think it might have been here for a while, to show people the benefits of existing implementations. In this way people get convinced of the reason to trust and even use blockchain technology based implementations.

I have started to fall in love with this technology, even though I have come to the realisation that I still know practicly nothing. We are standing at the brink of a disruptive period in time and should be wary of the things we say, for in 10 years, we will look back and laugh at ourselves for not seeing the real possibilities the blockchain technology was going to offer.

As I said, let me know what you think of this blog, what you would like to see and where you see possible improvement. Besides me trying to share the knowledge I have gathered in the last couple of months, I would also like this to be a method of gathering more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66