Mining steem in GPUs or Processor based?

in #blockchain8 years ago (edited)

So...this is just a question for feloow miners:

I have been mining Steem on my windows pc for about 24 hours and I can see a slow but steady increase on my Steem Power :)

I am using the guides found on the steemIt website...if you do a search like "mining steem on windows pc" you'll find quite a few. 

The think is those guides are set to work using the threads on your computers processor, from previous experiences with Bitcoin and also LTC I know that miners prefered to use GPUs, that is the graphics processors in your graphics cards, because is was proven that is was more efficient to mine with integer based calculations like the GPU does than with floating point, like the processor does ...

So the question here is: considering what  the "inner structure" ( I am inventing that term here) of the Steem block chain may be ( I don't know it) what would be more productive; mining with GPUs or mining with a processor threads?

any thoughts anyone?

Thanks.

/anarcharos.

Sort:  

The problem is that no one has written an efficient gpu implementation of ecdsa. If you do it you'll be rich :)

Or they will just change the POW algo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57877.75
ETH 3163.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26