The Role Of Humans In A World of Technology

in #blockchain-blogger7 years ago (edited)

Blockchain Blogger.png


We have come to the end of another week that saw me deal on some thought provoking topics. Though I was not as productive as I liked

I wrote fewer posts than last two weeks and this is something that I will try to avoid this week. When it comes to blogging, it is true that It is not everyday that there will be Inspiration or strength to put out something, but it stills makes me sad anyday that I don't put out content

Looking at It from the aspect of blogging on Steemit, you may think that failure to make a post on any given day involves forfeited potential earnings , well it goes beyond that , I also work with the fact that I am not only letting my wallet down, most Importantly , I am disappointing people that very day

Now if you don't have any form of connection with your audience you may not get what I am trying to explain, but when you realize that inactivity on any given days means that you are letting people who chose to listen to you down, you will put in more effort to exhibit a level of productivity on any given day

This will not make you to be 100% active, but it will make you not give room for laziness. There will still be days when something will come up that requires your full attention, but you will never blog on any given day just because you don't feel like it

Now to cement the full point I am trying to make. Your blog is an extension of yourself. I use my blog as a way to share with the world the things I discovered on my path to self development. It will be easy for you to create content if you are toeing the path of self Improvement

So any day, you fail to have something to share, It means you did not work on yourself that very day


Now lets move ahead to the round-up of last week's post

The first post of last week was titled The Blockchain And The Birthpangs Of Decentralization

In this post I talked about the History of the Internet and how what the Blockchain is facing right now is a mere replay of events. Every new piece of technology have always faced resistance at some point in time and with time it slowly gained mass acceptance and adoption

The Following are comments from readers

@steemcaster said

Hello @ogochukwu, this is a nice piece, i must say I'm really impressed with how far you've come in your understanding of the blockchain ecosystem.

To your question: What is the biggest threat to blockchain adoption?

I would say it's scalabilty issues. If blockchain which is expected to come & take over or enhance every aspect of information storage/transfer/processing as we know it is not as fast as the existing system then the need for its adoption might be called into question because we who are already enthusiasts within the industry are concerned with privacy/security just as much as those without are more concerned with speed & easy accessibility over true privacy, and until we can build the blockchain to be just as seamless as the current database/ledger is already we may not see blockchain receive even 1% of the adoption Uber has gotten so far.

That said, i believe the blockchain will surmount these issues & eventually drive mainstream usage for everything.Steem on bro!


@steemfluencer said

The biggest threats as almost always are monsters like greediness, banks (in case their strategy still doesn't include adoption of the technology and becoming a major holder) and of course, the end of the world which will make any technology irrelevant.


The second post of the week was titled On The Blockchain: Challenges In The Race For Infrastructure Inversion

This was like a continuation of the previous post, I talked more In details of how Blockchain Infrastructure will come about and the similar path taken by previous technologies like cars and electricity

The following are comments from readers

@steemfluencer said

Looking forward to read your post on Arise bank. It's almost like a public secret that sooner or later all banks will switch to blockchain.

Once I've read an opinion that part of the plan is to keep XPR at a low level deceiving people to buy and exchange their BTC and ETH for XPR. I forgot the name of the guy. I think there's a post on Steemit about it.


@yomibolo said

I should have read this hours ago. Technology and block chain technology specifically is where the economies of the world is heading. Businesses and countries have to adapt or get left behind.

Thanks. I’ll go read your blog from yesterday now.


BLOCKCHAIN BLOGGER.png


The third post of the week was for the Steem Thunderclap which is a brainchild of @fitzgibbon. It is a promotional effort across social media platform where Steemians talk about the Power of the Steem Blockchain

Click Here To Read More And Participate In The Steem Thunderclap


The Third post of the week was a discussion post titled Do You Think Technology Have Affected Our Relationships

I started a discussion that explored the extent to which technology have affected Human relationships

The following are comments from readers

@raikuhen said

I don't think so.

Here's an example of why technology didn't really change the way we do things - let's say I'm on the bus, there's a person next to me and my phone just died. I have nothing else to do but talk to the other person or stare out the window. Will I talk to the other person?

Personally, I'd rather spend 6 hours in silence staring out the window than to start a conversation with a stranger. I'm sure others will agree with me and would do the same.

There are also other people who would immediately start talking to the person next to them and hope for an amazing conversation.

The fact that some of us want to be social while others don't is something that existed since the beginning of times. If I don't have my phone but I have a book in that bus, I'll be reading it 3 times if needed just to avoid talking to someone else.

I'm an introvert and I don't like talking to those I don't know out of "fear" that I'll be regretting the conversation. Will I use any tool I have at my disposal to avoid conversation? Yes. Does it need to be a phone? No.

People were always looking for distraction even when technology was not around, just like you can see in the image you added to your article. If it's not a phone, it's a book, if it's not a book, it's probably some music, if not that, then a newspaper and if none of that is available, then starting at something for hours is a lot better than to talk to someone in most cases and for a lot of people.

But of course that's just a "bus" example. What about those people on Social Media who are fake, post dozens of images daily with them looking good and have thousands of fake friends? Aren't they "controlled" or "influenced" by technology for doing that and for not being "real"? Are they like that because of technology?

No. If you've been out, interacting with people for a while you know very well that the same kind of people are out there too, even tho they don't use social media.

Those people go to every party they can, dress as well as they can afford it and are as fake as they can get in order to impress others.

The only difference is that they don't use social media - they just do it in front of you. How's that different from the way they behave on Instagram, Facebook or Twitter?

Then there's the "people don't go out any more" example, used by those who are so excited to prove how bad technology is that they would spend years of their life chasing that goal.

Wherever you live, if you look outside I'm sure there are a ton of people out, having fun, interacting with others.

Those who are not, those who spend more time inside, in front of their computer, don't do it because technology is controlling them or because they are "obsessed" with social media. They do it because they probably hate spending time with others.

I spend most of my time inside and I go out only when I can spend time with certain people. Is it because I am "controlled" by my computer or because I'm antisocial after spending a few minutes on social media?

No, It's because I don't like the people who live in the area. I've tried going out, I regretted it. Am I anti social? No, right now a person just wrote me on Facebook and I'm talking to her. Do I enjoy it? Of course I do. Why don't I go out and spend time with that person? Because she lives 80KM away from me. But hey, even tho the internet gave me the chance to meet that person and talk to her, it's evil because other people don't like it, right?

Technology offered us opportunities to interact with others and spend our time in a different way. If technology wouldn't be around, we would still find ways to distract ourselves and not interact with people all the time.

Blaming technology for the way things are and how people interact with each other nowadays is like blaming a weapon for killing another person, instead of the criminal.

Even if the weapon is just a hammer, it's just stupid to blame it. The hammer is just a tool used to build, not to kill, yet a human decided to use it the wrong way.

Technology is nothing but a tool that we choose to use it one way or another. The fact that it exists has absolutely nothing to do with how much people talk with each other nowadays. Taking technology away because some people can use it the "wrong" way is like taking hammers away from every person capable of murder (it's an extreme example but I used it to illustrate how silly is to blame a tool for the way others use it).

Plus, I think we shouldn't forget how many good things were achieved using technology, like better health care, better ways of transportation, better ways of living, better ways of generating food, taking care of what we love most, etc.

But as I like to say, if people find something they dislike, they'll always find a way to criticize it.


@gee1 said

Smart phones have affected our communication with people. Like you said,

Communication is a two way thing, speaking and listening.For us to have really conversed with a person we must have talked to and listened to them. And social Media makes it impossible to have hard communications with people.

Asides this, in reality even when we are physically present with the person, We rarely listen. Probably that moment we decide to give the conversation our attention, one notification pops up and we get totally lost.

The same social media has given us the opportunity to stay closer to friends and family through chat groups. Thereby strengthening communication.

In summary, I would Say Smart phones and the social media have disrupted effective communication but if properly used, it can promote effective communication and build good relationship.


That is all for last week, hope you were satisfied with the quality of content I was able to provide, this weeks promises to be value packed

Thanks For Reading

All Images Designed by on Canva


FOllow @ogochukwu

Sort:  

I like how you recap all your blogs for the week.Very informative

Thanks for your constant engagement @yomibolo

I'm barely a month old on steemit and I'm starting to understand the whole blockchain thing and the world of crypto currency as a whole, I started following you some few days back and I was able to read your last post which I found educating and I also made some contributions, I'll do well to read your earlier posts. Thank you for enlightening your audience and I hope to see more of this. Keep the good work up.

Thanks for your commitment to learning @kingeazi. It is a requirement for growth. Will take a look at your blog

Excellent content as always @ogochukwu.

Sir ironshield, I like the sound of that! @ironshield

On my part, technology has made our lives easier but it has not really changed my being but rather on how I just manage to finish tasks that are given to me. I would be very ungrateful if i would say that i could still manage to live without technology because i became so dependent on it.

Yes we have all tailored our lives round tech and it will be hard to wean off it

Point taken. 😊

Wow.. Just going through this piece, have been able to know some things about this. A good summary of how the week went. Thank you @ogochukwu.

Thanks for reading @dazzypearl

I always like how detailed and committed you are with your posts. I love this.

Really great contents you produce @ogochukwu . I look forward to your future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81