Question to the community of 3D artists

in #blender6 years ago

How do you manage to create such graphics in blender or unity 3d? Which shaders or notes?

I know the topic is complicated but I would be very happy if someone could give me some tips and advice.

I would like to thank you in advance.

Screenshot_20181125-133152_TanksALot.jpg

Screenshot_20181125-134728_TanksALot.jpg

Screenshot_20181125-135023_TanksALot.jpg

Sort:  

I'd like to answer your question but first, I want to remind you that I'm not a pro, so after you read my answer I suggest you do some more research based on your understanding from my answer to find out about the more advanced tips tricks and knowledges on texture painting. I'm currently learning this style as well.

I believe it's hand painted texture (or texture paint). I've seen a lot of high quality hand painted texture style and they are fking amazing. But it seems this particular game doesn't have much texture detail on them. As you can see the cube stones and the grass are all in one flat colour. Green, and that's it. Light brown, and that's it. No gradient, just so little scratches, (almost) nothing. It almost like they just applied Diffuse BSDF material and didn't do any painting.
The objects with the most texture detail on them are the metal box and that structure on the left on the second picture, as you can see they have chipped paint detail.

Here's an excellent video to follow if you want to start texture painting.

I hope this helps!

I did not think that these are hand-painted textures. The video was really insightful.

"Hand painted" not always literally mean that texture was drawn by hand. This term used to categorize art style in most cases. Such a texture can be easily generated from highpoly mesh in Substance Designer or Quixel.
The simplest shader you can use for hand painted material style is unlit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68