Sealed - chapter one

in #blackpools4 years ago (edited)

My heart was pounding. I watched the clock tick, seconds dragging on and on, much slower than the thoughts in my head. I couldn’t be the one who was able to shift again after a millennium, could I? No, that was crazy. Every time a shifter turns sixteen, we all thought we’d be the one. Because that was how it used to be.

The Gray Goddess, in a fit of anger, had cursed us. The reason for her anger is still unknown, mostly for my people’s fear of her. No one wanted to be the one who questioned her. But whatever happened rendered our ability to shift and connect with our dragon spirits useless. No one could change, trapping us in our human vessels forever. But today was my birthday, and at 6:31 pm, I’d be sixteen.

My nerves weren’t settling. Only about fifteen minutes stood between me and my birthday. My family was hoping I’d be the first one of the dragon shifters to get her dragon side back. But I don’t think it’s possible. A goddess cursed us. I would not be the one to defy a goddess, on purpose or on accident.

A strand of my chestnut hair fell in my face and I brushed it back, huffing in annoyance. I had to admit, my hair was pretty. But the length proved to be a pain sometimes. I clipped it back with a small blue clip that matched my eyes.
Studying my face in the mirror, I noted my pale skin and the dark circles beginning to form under my eyes. I hadn’t slept well in days, dreading this monumental moment. I was convinced nothing would happen, but I never told my parents. They were so hopeful, and I didn’t want to upset them. They didn’t deserve to deal with that disappointment, even if their hope was false.

I sighed, not knowing what else to do. I could only worry. And hope. I wasn’t sure which was more dangerous.

My small stack of presents caught my eye, and I stood. They were on the table bedside, leftover from my birthday party. It had been a small affair with just my family and a few close friends, but Dad recommended saving their presents for a private moment.

I picked up the smallest one first. It was from Mom, and it was wrapped in beautiful gray paper with little white stars all over it. I carefully tore off the paper to reveal a small black box. Inside was a beautiful silver locket with small black gemstones embedded into its surface. I ran my fingers over the stones, admiring its beauty, before turning to the mirror and clasping it around my neck. It suited me perfectly.

The second present was average-sized and very heavy. The paper was dark blue and sparkly, and it was a little harder to tear. The book beneath the paper was brown with gold gilding, and it looked every bit ancient and mysterious. Its title made me gasp. I’d thought ‘The History of the Dragon Shifters’ by Poe Stonebrooke had been lost to time. But this book didn’t look fake, and knowing my dad’s love for books, this was the real one.

My people had always believed this book held the answers to the questions we’d been asking for millennia. And now I was holding it in my bedroom. I felt a little dizzy. I set it down, but a paper crunched beneath it. I tugged the sheet of paper out from underneath and unfolded it. It was a note.

Dear Valda,
Hide this book as soon as you can. I will answer your questions soon. I love you.
~ Dad

With a small smile and a head full of thoughts, I looked to my wall. Behind a painting of a fireplace that hung across from my bed, there was a small cubby. It had a little door that locked with a latch. I’d found the cubby when I’d replaced the frame on the painting ,but the key had been much harder to find. It ended up being in a box under a bookshelf in Dad’s attic library. It was now attached to my anklet at all times.

I opened the clasp of my anklet and unlocked the cubby. It held a few odds and ends, but nothing important. The book fit perfectly. I locked the cubby quietly and set everything back into place.
The final gift was from my sister Amber. It was soft and squishy, and when I opened it, the papers tore to reveal a beautiful black gown that looked like the goddesses themselves had crafted it. I gasped, running my fingers along the silky fabric. It must have cost Amber a fortune. I sniffled and wiped away a small tear, overwhelmed by the love they had shown me.

Then my phone alarm rang. Shit.
I’d set an alarm one minute before my birthday to remind myself. But now I wished I hadn’t. Everyone must have heard it. There were the sounds of feet stomping on the stairs, and then everyone burst into my room without asking, smiling at me. If it wasn’t for my sixteenth birthday being seconds away, I would have gotten mad. But as it was, I could barely think straight. There was only a few seconds left.

7… 6… 5… 4… 3… 2… 1… Nothing. A small sigh escaped Mom’s lips, and I squeezed my eyes shut with a tinge of sadness.

“It’s okay, sweetheart. We still love you,” Mom said. But I frowned, my anger rising. This shouldn’t be the criteria for them loving me. I was their daughter; their eldest child! I, Valda, should come first, not some hopeless dream of me being the first shifter. It wasn’t right.

I turned to yell at Mom, unable to stop my anger, but a fiery burning erupted in my gut. My head ached, and my vision swam. My heart pounded against my rib cage. It felt different. It felt right. A golden light flitted across my vision, and I winced, shielding my eyes and flinching back. And when I dropped my hands and opened my eyes, I screamed.

fantasy-woman-1721663__340.webp

Sort:  

What happened to her dad? Several questions already to keep me reading :P

what do you mean what happened? ..... I don't understand. Sure! You can ask anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94