Why I am not excited about the "Black Panther": Subliminal segregation with lots of noise

in #blackpanther6 years ago (edited)


Source: TheSource

Africa, the continent often hail as Motherland and spiritual home of those living abroad. Bless with the abundance of natural and human resources, culturally rich and diverse, many things can be said about this continent and its people. Today I like to dissect a fatuous aspect of the fame and probably most anticipated Marvel film called 'Black Panther'. From the get go let me say I am in no way a hater, I encourage people go have a look at the film and form your own opinion.

The Black Panther has been coin "Afrofuturism", meaning that it depicts or illustrates philosophy of Science and History that combines fictional elements of science, history, or fantasy that is African of nature. These illustration have been well received with the movie gaining significant traction. I try to summarize the movie and make my point below

The movie center's around "Wakanda", a highly militarized nation and some what isolationist, protects it's borders, develops technology that it doesn't give away, and fully exploits it's natural resources to create wealth. There is an ongoing war with rival sect trying to gain control.

From the onset, the graphics and coordination of the movie is top-class, its captivating and enticing but the theme is where I have a problem. How can Africans or those who are Afrocentric glorify these themes? Are Africans isolationist, are African countries now obsessed with protecting their borders? I appreciate the aspect of the movie where Wakanda utilize its natural resource to create wealth but in reality, this is not theme of African nations, most of the wealth goes into the pocket of select few. Probably some may say, finally Hollywood has given the continent the much needed respect but respect of what? One can assume that the "costumes" were on par with modern and traditional trends but is it a theme that we are willing to endorse. There is much more I can say, but its a movie, I would leave it at that. There are some seeds in life, once planted it becomes reality.

Sort:  

I vowed to never give another dollar to Hollywood after the the last election, but my resolve was strengthened even further after the Weinstein scandal broke.

NOT $1!

Hahahahahaha...well its another form of programming, like the Television and Media outlets, they craftily bring their agendas across... I wonder what trees would grow from this fatuous nonsense, probably we may see more nation taking this isolationist approach... I usually enjoy the entertainment but consciously try to not make it my thinking/ programming

Poignant.

I'd call this piece a "white man's guilt" flagellation. Funded and written by people who seem to hate their own ethnicity and fetishize others, it represents a high-water mark in the US culture's ability to hate itself.

I could not put it better... People need to realize when the joke is on them rather than jumping with the crowd...

I didn't see it this deep, I just saw it as a normal marvel superhero movie. I had no idea about all this. Thanks for bringing it to my notice.

It is these little things that plant seeds in your mind, probably you enjoy it as a movie but like many of the songs we never learn we often repeat then word for word and it eventually becomes who we are...

Not even going to bother watching it, it's too politicised.

thanks for information in movie....
well post....

Hello, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and Black Panther either had isolationism or nationalism or maybe both or what was it? They said it was an isolationist. Regardless of what you call the country, it was either more good or more bad. If it was good, then why stop? If it was bad, then how their country become so great in such a bad mean?

This post has received a 35.66% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @daudimitch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83