You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BLACKMAILED | Someone tried to blackmail me on steemchat | NEED HELP

in #blackmailed7 years ago

I thought it was obvious that this guy was going to be a total scammer.

Of course, this is exactly the sort of value blackmailing scheme I've been expecting to see proliferating on the steem blockchain for a bit now. It's the kind of scam of the architecture was born for. There is, after all, no way to validate either ability to fulfill the promise or fulfill the threat. If anything, it reminds me of the very popular "your Windows box is infected with malware" pop-up scam, where engaging with them is the first step in being suckered by them.

Don't be a sucker.

Of course, I can't let anything go so easily. I like a little bit of investigation. I like interrogation. I like going into people's public knowledge and public data, so I did a little checking.

https://steemworld.org/@rok-sivante

This is the account which is purported to be the guy who's blackmailing you. He does, in fact, have a lot of SP.

No, really, he has a lot of SP. And he sitting on a fat stack of steem as well.

In fact, he sitting on way too much SP and steem to be someone who is involved in a shitty little scam for 4 SBD. If he was involved in scamming, it would be something more on the scale of 400 SBD for him to even notice the value on his bottom line.

So I took the next step. I actually looked at the kind of posts and kind of content that he creates. I looked at his word choice. I looked at his spelling. I looked at the operations that he is involved in.

The guy that message you on Steemit chat is not the holder of this account. His writing style is entirely different. The things he talks about are entirely different. The way he expresses himself is entirely different.

So it's a double scam. Whoever spoke to you on Steemit.chat was masquerading as a high SP member of the community. He will end up making this other poor musician ("poor" being relative) look bad while trying to scam other people as well, I'm sure.

The best response to someone trying to blackmail you is laughing in their face. Seriously. If they had any power to do something to you, they wouldn't have to be trying to scam you. It wouldn't have to be trying to blackmail you. They would just do it. They only have the power that we provide them.

My power is laughter.

Sort:  

Well, this teach me alot. Thank you so much sir for this knowledge. Even, when i checked his account i thought that why he want just 4 sbd when he have lots of SP. But then i felt for sometime that if they get angry they can do whatever to fish like me.
Thank you so much for your support.

Oh, no mistake, the high-SP members of the community can largely do whatever they like to folk of our scale. That's the way the system's built.

It's just not worth it to them without a real personal vendetta. It's not even worth the time it'd take to crush us.

Being tiny has its own strange kind of protection.

Yeah, i agree. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69