Waiting 24 hours for a transfer in cryptocurrency is unacceptable!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blacklist7 years ago (edited)

If I wanted to wait that long I'd be using a Rothschild bank instead, Poloniex needs to step up their game.

dont own image

I will not be recommending the Poloniex exchange to anyone, I can't. It will soon be 24 hours since I requested a withdraw for an insignificant amount and I'm still having trouble, the sad thing is this is not the first time I've had trouble getting my money out of this exchange.

Not sure why people dealing with STEEM use it as much, maybe there aren't any other exchanges that support this currency yet. If that's the case I won't be getting any STEEM until this changes, I will get it in the way of rewards. Though I might just get rid of all my STEEM if there are no plans to include other exchanges, I'm going to look into that now because I'm sure this currency is being sold somewhere else. But just to give you an idea of how disappointed I am, if the only way to exchange my STEEM was Poloniex I'd blacklist Steemit all together.

The only thing that comes to mind whenever I have issues with them is how people who are just starting to become familiar with crypto will not see much of a gain in adopting the technology because they can get better service elsewhere; this is bad business for everyone.

Self-sabotage? Maybe. There's a possibility their incompetence could be a strategy to delay adoption, turn people off so they don't feel like owning networks to exchange value is worth the trouble. Who owns Poloniex? I'll be looking into that next...

Just a few minutes ago I finally received a reply from their support team, I was already writing this post by the time I heard from them and now I am glad to be taking the time to speak out.

Their excuse is that they held my money because I am withdrawing from a different IP and to a different wallet than I have on the past, say what?!

So basically if you are going to use Poloniex, not only do you need to make sure you stay in the same place, but you also need to endanger yourself by continuously using the same wallets because if they see one they don't recognize they might block the withdraw.

The whole point of using crypto is how fast it is, how flexible when it comes to traveling, being able to spread out on different wallets for greater security. Poloniex doesn't seem to have an interest in preserving the core value of this technology, so I should not be helping them give crypto a bad name by making them stronger using their services.

I guess the most disturbing thing about all is not in the uncertainty about whether I'll be able to get them to release my funds, the worst thing is there is no trace in my account of that ever occurring. Like there is nowhere on my account to where I can even show others where I made the request and how long it was until they got to it, that I ever had an issue with them.

They made me create a second account to even submit a ticket to report the problem, why can't they just do it with my existing login? They had the funds in transfer, reading pending approval, but I didn't have access to either withdrawing or selling. Who had access to my money all that time? What if I wouldn't had created an account to make the complain, would they have just kept my stuff? Why can't they have an automatic email pick up the activity and let the owner of the account know the problem so they don't have to look at an empty wallet for hours waiting for something that will never come?

It wasn't my STEEM they were holding if that's what you are worried about, but it doesn't matter, if they can do this with one currency they can do it with the rest.

It's easy to tell yourself this could never happen to you and just ignore, to think back to other good experiences you may have had with the company. But just remember the day this happens to you could be the day you need the funds most.

You've been warned! Poloniex is bad news!


follow

Sort:  

Very informative post thanks for the head up

thanks for sharing your experience, I haven't had to wait that long yet for any exchange thankfully, hope it works out for you it can be frustrating having to wait so long

It has worked out regardless of whether I can get my stuff back, at least I know who I am dealing with while the loss is still small.

Am I the only one using the steem\sbd market on the steemit platform? It works just fine for me.

I should give it a try, but I think one can only trade with BTC there, not sure.

I Just Upvoted Your Post! No reason, just showing steemit Love. Have an epic Day/Afternoon/Evening! :D
Know the truth about blogging on steemit:
https://steemit.com/life/@iloveupvotes/kindness-is-all-it-takes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46