Black Adam Custom

in #blackadam6 years ago (edited)

Created this custom sculpt for Ice Breaker Designs. This was all done within one week and think I will be able to get my workflow down and refine it more with each one of these. I can not express how humbled I am that I get to do this for a living and that others are excited to see, paint, own and display these works. It's quite surreal.

For the last 10 yrs, I have been trying to get into the game industry and got one interview, two art tests and a whole lot of silence. To tell you the truth, I was very low before getting this new gig with IBD. I was thinking to myself that I had spent the last 10 yrs pursuing a goal that would never happen. I would get a gig here and there for $50 bucks here. Most of all a lot of inquiries with no follow through. I am not blaming them. I was humbled that they had any interest.

After years of this and family health issues progressively getting worse over the years it was so much to handle emotionally and spiritually. I felt I had just lost a decade to a foolish dream.

I interviewed Erick Sosa (hyper talented gracious veteran of customs and collectibles) one day for my show Meshed Up Live! on YouTube and he said there are a lot of artists out there that don't know where they belong.

Thankfully, it found me. In hindsight, I see how obvious it all was that I should be sculpting super heroes all day in dramatic poses and environments. It's what I have been doing since the age of 5. Drawing, painting, writing, sculpting pop icons and superheroes.

I feel renewed and thankful that I have found a new home here with customs and collectibles. It has allowed me to accomplish one dream: Sculpt a DC Character for money.

Hope you enjoy these renders and thanks for reading! BlackAdam.jpg
BlackAdam01.jpgBlackAdam02.jpgBlackAdam03.jpgBlackAdam04.jpgBlackAdam05.jpgBlackAdam07.jpgBlackAdam06.jpgBlackAdam08.jpg

Sort:  

great sculpt, will you be printing it?

Ice Breaker Designs will be producing this for their DC line. Feel free to PM Stan Man Wong on Facebook if you are looking to buy one! Thank you for the kind words.

nice work just great , keep it up

I just started walking through that path. And I feel that what you went thru will happen to me. Even maybe to every artist. We have to brace ourselves for the struggle. As @reinhard-schmid said, "You have to be your biggest fan".That's rule №1... Otherwise, we are anchoring the fail to our legs! What we will encounter after the next turn is up to our decisions.
Cheers!

It's kind of like a crucible. Where times like this separate the artists that can't, won't or don't want to do anything else.

u got my small little upvote! amazing work you have

Thank Jikey. Every bit helps! Thanks for the kind words.

Amazing!! I love it as much as I love Black Adam! Congrats!!

For future posts (and based on my little experience on Steemit) you might want to chose a wider tag (at least the first one, that's gonna put your post in a category and you don't get to change it later) so your post gets seens by more people, because it deserves it.
Maybe something like #art would work better IMO than just "blackadam".

Thanks brotha. I did hashtag this one with art. I think it helped a little.

Congratulations @shotgunscream! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50