White Belt Curriculum - Week 4 - Side Control

in #bjj6 years ago

white-belt curriculum1.jpg

Greetings fighters, Jiu Jitieros, Judokas and MMA madmen (and women!) It has been a few days since the last edition of the White Belt Curriculum for a few reasons:

  1. I paused to get into some Judo (which I will continue with some technique videos when dtube figures itself out)
  2. I have to force myself to also post about Music, Crypto, parenting, sailing, business and all the other things I do so that I am not typecast as producing only BJJ stuff!
  3. Took me a while to come up with a third reason as I like to do things in 3s ;)

In this edition, Ryan gets into the basics and a few details on Side Control. I have always found that passing the guard was natural and that Side Control (side mount) is a great transition position for control (and points) and the devil is really in the details. I love this position in a long roll/match to control and catch my breath. Don't get stalled though as submission is the mission.

Key Observations

  • Try and control both shoulders and both hips with knees and elbows, pull your opponent to you. Keep em flat!
  • Open elbow aggressively and use shin/hip to pressure your leg through to mount.
  • Be heavy, take your time but set up the submission/advancement of position....side control is not the goal.

As usual, I am passing on wisdom and knowledge I have had the privilege of being exposed to. I leave no question left in the comments unanswered and try and save some of my upvote power to reward conversation. Plus, geting responses makes me feel the info is useful for others in their journey to the mats to start, or towards advancement and ass-kickery.

jj4l-logo2_1_orig.png

Sort:  

Love that you're posting this. It's just plain awesome.

Just passing on the goodness my friend. It is a gift that you are supposed to regift.

When I type it, I picture instructors getting neat teaching tips (because Ryan is awesome) practitioners getting ONE little detail that improves their game, and people considering training getting a look over that scary threshold into a structured class to see it is not scary at all.

I agree. Anything I post I hope that someone can get something from it. That's another reason I like reposting because I've noticed alot of people have already said things that ......in a round about way is what I want to say or feel needs to be known. Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61