BJJ White Belt Curriculum - Week 2, class 2

in #bjj6 years ago

white-belt curriculum1.jpg

Here we have our next installment of the White Belt Curriculum educational video series. Again, this is a great way to learn the basics, or, more importantly, fill in the holes in your basic techniques to strengthen your foundation.

Today, we continue in the area of closed guard. When your opponent stands up, it is time to progress and sweep, not panic.

Key personal take aways:

  1. Your opponent doesn't need to make a mistake for you to stop the pass......you just have to be ready and know when to change your tactics.
  2. Butterfly hooks are great in the tripod sweep.
  3. Ryan is big on De La Riva and is foreshadowing a little.
  4. Great looks even meaner on video!

Let me know what you think and thanks for watching!

Sort:  

thank you very much

Thanks for the positive comment and the upvote! Well, the positive comment at least. :)

no problem. I do bjj myself too.

Yah? How long have you trained? What got you started?

my bjj journey has been a long and winding road. i started bjj in high school about 10 years ago but only took a couple classes.

I got back into about a year ago, got 2 stripes on my white belt then stopped going for a little while. I started back again 2 months ago and now i've been losing weight and love bjj again.

Right on welcome back! The white belt curriculum will hopefully turn your computer time into details that help on the mat.

thanks man. i just got back from practice today.

This video deserves a second watch.
📹

It could come in handy in self defense.

Cheers @zekepickleman

Is @zekepickleman among those guys in the video? If Yes, which one?

And there seem to be only one lady there.
I feel they need this more than men. 😂

I missed this class because it was filmed at a noon class during the week. I have been training there for 4 years so I have taken that part of the curriculum a few times. I am in some of the videos, the other purple belt at this academy.

Oops forgot to add: We have at least 12 adult women in the club and they all kickass. lady's only classes twice a week too.

Four years?

Have you ever had reasons to use these skills outside the academy? Maybe in self defense or something?

It's amazing that women are incorporated into the training too.

Cheers @zekepickleman

A couple good discussion points really.

I have trained 6 years in total but only 4 at this gym since it opened in my back yard. I have not had to use these techniques in the real world and hope never to have to. I am a critical conversation haver but confrontation avoider so would either get myself out of the situation, or end it very quickly as a last resort.

This training is gender agnostic and is actually aimed at empowering everyone, especially the ones not gifted with size and strength. It is scary for anyone to take the bold first steps into any gym and probably more-so for females as guys are a lot to handle.

I am just lucky with this gym as alpha males seem to fall in line and learn well with the smaller or more timid and include everyone in the family. So the women are one of the strongest parts of the culture and the best training partners.

This answer has taken care of some of my other concerns.

Thanks again for taking time to answer this.

Even without using any sweep in specifically, when you are on the bottom and your opponent stands you should be attacking his balance while you look for a sweep. Just like he is showing, feel on hips, pushing, pulling whatever. Good post.

He seems like a very informative and technical instructor. I like the way he teaches....very chill. Thanks for the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91