Post BJJ Tournament Update | Dumau Philippine International Open Gi and No-GisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bjj7 years ago

Just about 2 weeks ago I competed in a BJJ tournament after being out of the competition scene for around 2 years. I have to say I really miss it. I want to compete at least 2 times next year. There were only one opponent in my divisions in gi and no-gi each and I won in each of them to secure gold but I really want to medal in the open weight next year.

22366671_10213514462752066_4742122754794610447_n.jpg

During my gi match in my division I was matched with a former teammate who I am still great friends with. I tried not to think about that fact and just did my game plan. It turned out well and I executed my game plan perfectly. Pulled butterfly guard then got to half-guard, secure a sweep and dominate on top. I almost got the darce but was not able to finish. Scored 4-0 to secure the gold.

At the open weight, my first match was with this muscle-bound guy from another island. I stayed the course and pulled guard. Caught him in a straight ankle-lock position but then he turned the wrong way, I followed his movement and I got disqualified for that stupid no 'reaping' rule, which I didn't even initiate and I didn't even reap the knee. Anyway lessoned learned.

Then next day was no-gi. I moved up a division so I wouldn't have to worry about weight, which I feel was a great decision. I felt great. Our match starts and my opponent takes me down, 2 points for him. No problem, I immediately worked towards my half-guard then worked for a sweep, which I got eventually but he reversed. 2 points for me another 2 for him. So it was 4-2 in his favor where we were stood up and as he shot a double-leg I sunk in an arm-in guillotine. It was deep so I held on to it and squeezed as hard as I could, I swear I could hear his neck pop. I got the tap for the gold.

I lost my first match in open weight similar to how I won in my division, with a guillotine from a takedown. Interestingly enough the guy I beat in my division ended up winning the final match against the guy who beat me in the first match. That's the beauty of jiujitsu when people are on a similar level of skill, sometimes it just takes a small mistake for your opponent to capitalize on and that's what makes it exciting.

A few things I've learned in this tournament. Game planning works. I see competition as the distillation of regular sparring, where every part of it is concentrated to the nth degree. One of the things that made me learn faster during sparring was to have a plan going in. This is more pronounced during a match in a competition where every move should be perfect. Another thing I've learned is that we should drill disqualification scenarios during competition training camp. I am not a fan of the no-reaping rule to be honest. I love playing heelhooks in the honeyhole position but we have to play by the rules of a certain organization, so during the camp season, there should be more emphasis on playing by the rules.

Overall it was a great experience. No problems with weight and felt great during the day. I feel our camp was a good template for future competitions with just a few tweaks here and there. Can't wait for the next one.

_DSF0665.jpg

Sort:  


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Congrats on your wins!

Thank you :)

Good job on your wins, keep it up and do the same next time :D

Nice write up man. I'm looking to get back in to comps next near! I really do miss it and also feel like i have been a blue belt for ever. Not to l9ng came back from a couple weeks in Tokyo and rolling with the guys out there has got me buzzing again.
All the best with future comps and i'll be following your progress ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64